Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Michael from Johannesburg

Convenient location, uncomfortable experience

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
Hassles on check in (my colleague almost got overcharged), hassles when needing minor business services (printing two pages), room had an awful smell (maybe air freshener trying to cover up cigarette smoke?)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Had a nice relaxing evening before flying out early
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Billed as an airport hotel, but it is not

Posted Apr 23, 2016
We chose this hotel because it was billed as a "hotel close to the airport" It is as far away from the airport as being in downtown Cape Town, and it cost us just as much in taxi fare to get from the hotel to the airport as it did to get from downtown to the hotel. The walls were very thin (listened to our neighbours most of the night) and the shower did not drain. The room felt dingy and the area felt unsafe. The bed were nice though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Apr 22, 2016
Not up to the standard that i expected. Breakfast was very expensive. Internet is very slow.
3 out of 5
by Geoffrey from Canada


Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
Staff friendly. Room condition good Poor wi-fi service. Slow service in restaurant. Very poor food quality. Dishes either under or overlooked. Appearance unappetizing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016
Dear Geoffrey I hope you received my direct email last week. I am delighted to receive the positive feedback about our friendly staff. We have shared this feedback with the team. Please accept my apologies though for the disappointment you experienced during dinner. We are launching a new menu in the next few weeks and are very excited about the new and improved dishes that will be served. We hope to see you when you next visit Cape Town. Regards, Anso V. General Manager
3 out of 5
by AJ

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
Location is convenient, but right next to N1 highway, so light sleepers will not have a restful night
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016
Dear AJ The rooms located at the bottom half of our property boasts with uninterrupted views of Table Mountain and our beautiful city. To ensure light sleepers aren’t disturbed, we have undergone a project to double glaze the windows in these rooms. The proximity of the highway ensures our guests have easy access to just about any area of Cape Town. As a result we are also only 20 minutes away from the airport. I am happy to hear you found the location convenient and hope you will visit us again. Regards, Anso V. General Manager
4 out of 5
by A A from Johannesburg

Great Experience

Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant stay in a comfortable room. Available of the restaurant all day is definitely a plus.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Outside of Cape Town but near Tyger Valley Mall

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Good Dining and excellent views over the city and harbour.
Cons: Air out the rooms.
Location: near the city and mall.
First night they put me into a smoking room which was terrible. I complained and the following day they gave me a much better room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2016 by Anso V, Hotel Management
Dear Kelly I am happy to hear you enjoyed your dining experience and the beautiful views of our city. We are very fortunate to have an uninterrupted view of the city, Table Mountain and Lions Head. We have noted your preference of a non-smoking room and will ensure that you are allocated to one of these rooms when booking again. I am pleased that the staff were able to assist you early in your stay to ensure you have a peaceful and smoke-free stay. Regards, Anso V. General Manager
5 out of 5
by Not Provided from Harare


Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
Clean beautiful hotel. Amazing breakfasts.
5 out of 5
by David from London

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
Very enjoyable stay in Capetown at the Protea, Tyger Valley food was very good we did not eat dinner but breakfast was very good