Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
The only major complaint was the statement that internet was free - but it was capped by bandwidth and mine shut off quite quickly. When I did have internet, it was poor quality. That may be more indicative of service levels in Cape Town hotels - not sure. I only know that mine was slow, when I did have it. Otherwise - good, clean room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harare

Great stay, except for the Wifi

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Good rooms, good location, friendly staff
Cons: The Wifi is horrible: not only very slow, but the system they use (always on) keeps on failing.
Location: Close to both the Waterfront (15 min walk) and downtown Cape Town (10 min), but also to N1/N2.
We booked a loft room: good decision. The room was spacious and well-appointed with dining space, kitchenette with fridge and microwave, sitting area and seperate bedroom and bathroom upstairs. The staff was friendly and accomodating. They made a point of caring for our safety - the doorman actually walked us to the pizza hut (100 yards from the hotel) on the evening of our arrival.
1 out of 5
by Garry

The worst Marriott ever!

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Cigarette smoke smell was so strong in my room despite of requesting a non-smoking room. I had sinusitis, headache and throat pain from the smell . Smoking should never be tolerated in non-smoking rooms. Very loud noise from next door room all night long despite of complaints at the front desk about the noise level. The property should have policies on noise levels during late night. Guests pay good money to get rest and good night sleep. Private parties must be conducted in the ballroom or public area, not in guest rooms especially all night long partiers. It is very irritating for guests who actually sleep at night. Very disappointing stay at this Marriott property. Not worth the money I paid for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice modern hotel, well located

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Location: Located right next to restaurant Beluga, a must try.
Close to the Waterfront and other main activities. Safe and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Nice hotel close to waterfront

Posted Dec 2, 2016
On a busy road junction so a bit noisy but really nice hotel and staff friendly. Great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Simply put, it was a great hotel.

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: We enjoyed staying there. The staff was friendly and helpful. There were nearby cafes and restaurants as well as a supermarket and pharmacy. I'd stay there again - any time.
Cons: Everything was great. It was clean, the rooms were comfortable, breakfasts were great and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The fact that they all had a ready smile, greeting and a great sense of humour was also appreciated.
Location: It was half an hour away from the airport and fairly central to Table Mountain, The Waterfront and other things.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Car park attendants were very friendly and helpful. Gym facilities OK
Cons: Sterile and clinical Extra charges for everything Pool area not nice
Location: Good location
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zero Customer Service

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed here the other day with my husband and the staff was anything but welcoming. They seemed annoyed that they had to check us in, annoyed when I came to tell them the phone in my room was broken (instead of fixing it, they claimed that they forgot to unlock the phone and take a security deposit), and annoyed when I checked out. When I asked about the shuttle to the Waterfront, they gave me the wrong meeting location. They didn't offer any concierge services. The business center didn't print and the wifi was limited when it was working. Cape Town was a beautiful city, but my stay at this hotel put a damper on it. The only thing I would change about my trip is my stay at this hotel as it was one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at when it came to guest services.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff especially Cheryl and Chad. Thank you all.
Cons: I really enjoyed my stay. I do not have any real dislikes. I would like more shuttle services to and from sites.
Location: I love the location; we were near everything and had great available independent access at cost.
The staff were out standing. we did have to call about bath towels several times but they always complied. I had a great stay all and all. I will come back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Doesn't worth the price -No fridge, poor WiFi

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was totally a failure. Since we couldn't get a fridge to our room in three days we gave up and asked for ice buckets every day. We have called several people and all of them said there is no available fridge out of the 4 fridges. Considering this is a 4star hotel and have almost 200 rooms we thought that it is a joke. 4 fridges for 200 rooms.... The location is ok but if you need a fridge for something (baby food, medication, drinks etc...) stay somewhere else. Also a less critical review is wifi is limited with 3 devices with a quota. We have the mobile data but for foreigners it can be a problem.