Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel but needs bringing up to scatch

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Cons: Some air conditioning in the dinning room and bar area No one in the bar as it was roasting in there
Our room was far to small either boiling hot or when the air con was on which blew all over you in bed it was freezing Don't choose a room at the front of the hotel as lots of traffic and very noisy Complained to the staff next day and asked for a discount but to no avail, they just said take it up with Expedia as I booked through them This is the first time I've made a hotel complaint and put it on a site but I was so disappointed with the hotels attitude
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Steve Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review your stay at Protea Franschhoek. Every process put in place is aimed at providing you with an unforgettable hotel experience. From your recent feedback, I am disappointed to learn that we fell short of your expectations. We strive to maintain the highest standards, not only in service, but also with regards to maintaining the overall look and feel of the hotel. Unfortunately, this sometimes requires essential renovations in our guest areas and as you noticed, we are currently getting ready to undergo a major renovation of our Guests areas. These areas are sure to provide a highly functional space and stylish décor that meet the modern needs of our valued guests, like you. Thank you for providing feedback that will ultimately help and improve our effectiveness and procedures Kind Regards Management and Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Nice hotel and central

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Very comfortable hotel. Staff excellent. really central and easy to get around. Overall loved our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Large enough to have 'facilities', small enough to feel intimate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Excellent hotel in Franschoek

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Great location. Wonderful staff. I would definitely stay here again. The staff are absolutely fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by victoria, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Vincent Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guests Satisfaction Survey, your review is much appreciated, we will pass on this positive feedback to our TEAM Kind Regards Victoria Boonzaaier 021 876 3012
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
It was good although next time if I book at the hotel I will book a room that do not face to the street - the traffic is quite noisy early in the morning. The dining room staff were very friendly and we enjoyed the food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, clean hotel with a friendly atmosphere

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent hotel in a beautiful area. Friendly and helpful staff. Great choice of breakfast. Clean pool and spacious sun-bathing area. Only a short walk to town - shopping, restaurants, wine tours etc.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and good value hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable stay, spacious room, quiet, room amenities are great compared to the more boutique / upmarket hotels in area / within the wineries; great value stay right in Franschhoek (a few minutes walk to all shops)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
We were very impressed with the Protea Hotel in Franschhoek. The room was spotless, the grounds and pool were immaculate, and the staff couldn't be more helpful. It is in a perfect location and in walking distance of the town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Attentive staff

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Good location and the staff was very attentive and knew the area well and advised accordingly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2016 by Victoria, Hotel Management
Dear Roy Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey, yiur review is much appreciated. Kind Regards Victoria Boonzaaier Marketing Plan Coordinator 021 876 3012