Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is really convenient for an easy walk into Franschhoek village. Staff are very friendy. Room was a little dated, but comfortable. Nice breakfast. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Anthony

Spectacular Franschhoek

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful area with easy access to numerous vineyards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel but needs bringing up to scatch

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Cons: Some air conditioning in the dinning room and bar area No one in the bar as it was roasting in there
Our room was far to small either boiling hot or when the air con was on which blew all over you in bed it was freezing Don't choose a room at the front of the hotel as lots of traffic and very noisy Complained to the staff next day and asked for a discount but to no avail, they just said take it up with Expedia as I booked through them This is the first time I've made a hotel complaint and put it on a site but I was so disappointed with the hotels attitude
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Steve Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review your stay at Protea Franschhoek. Every process put in place is aimed at providing you with an unforgettable hotel experience. From your recent feedback, I am disappointed to learn that we fell short of your expectations. We strive to maintain the highest standards, not only in service, but also with regards to maintaining the overall look and feel of the hotel. Unfortunately, this sometimes requires essential renovations in our guest areas and as you noticed, we are currently getting ready to undergo a major renovation of our Guests areas. These areas are sure to provide a highly functional space and stylish décor that meet the modern needs of our valued guests, like you. Thank you for providing feedback that will ultimately help and improve our effectiveness and procedures Kind Regards Management and Team
5 out of 5
by STEVEN

Central Frandchoek hotel, great for wine tram!

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here when taking part in the wine tram. Great location. Pool and garden was lovely (of a little small!?) and free parking. Breakfast great too
4 out of 5
by Gert

Convenient, clean & friendly service.

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Was very good, excellent breakfast, friendly and very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Nice hotel and central

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Very comfortable hotel. Staff excellent. really central and easy to get around. Overall loved our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Large enough to have 'facilities', small enough to feel intimate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Excellent hotel in Franschoek

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Great location. Wonderful staff. I would definitely stay here again. The staff are absolutely fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by victoria, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Vincent Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guests Satisfaction Survey, your review is much appreciated, we will pass on this positive feedback to our TEAM Kind Regards Victoria Boonzaaier 021 876 3012
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
It was good although next time if I book at the hotel I will book a room that do not face to the street - the traffic is quite noisy early in the morning. The dining room staff were very friendly and we enjoyed the food.