Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Nice hotel and central

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Very comfortable hotel. Staff excellent. really central and easy to get around. Overall loved our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Excellent hotel in Franschoek

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Great location. Wonderful staff. I would definitely stay here again. The staff are absolutely fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by victoria, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Vincent Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guests Satisfaction Survey, your review is much appreciated, we will pass on this positive feedback to our TEAM Kind Regards Victoria Boonzaaier 021 876 3012
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Attentive staff

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Good location and the staff was very attentive and knew the area well and advised accordingly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2016 by Victoria, Hotel Management
Dear Roy Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey, yiur review is much appreciated. Kind Regards Victoria Boonzaaier Marketing Plan Coordinator 021 876 3012
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good quality hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2016
A really nice hotel with rooms with balcony set around a central oblong with the pool and large area of grass with sun beds. Comfy bed. Nice bathroom with separate shower. 5 mins walk from town center big car park. Very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Location: Vineyards and tram Bike hire
Very pleasing little hotel Very quaint Close to the main restaurants and the wine tram Nice pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshiire UK

Central location

Posted Feb 14, 2016
Had a lovely 2 night stay in the wine region of Franschoek. Hotel is in Franschoek itself and very convenient for restaurants locally and for the winery restaurants. Food very good in most places. Staff very friendly and helpful. Pool area small but adequate with nice views of the mountains. Rooms small but clean. Only criticism is that bed was a little too firm for us. Breakfast the usual choices but adequate - I would like to see covers over all the food as flies around and maybe a chilled surface for cold meats and cheeses. Otherwise good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well-run hotel in Franschhoek

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Our experience at the Protea Franschhoek was great. The staff were super efficient and friendly, breakfast was good, car parking was easy and location was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2016
A perfect place with very good service, its place very closed to shops and restaurants :-) we had 2 nights and we will definetly be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Impractical rooms and faulty plumbing

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of staff and breakfast
Cons: Single rooms with proper blinds. Less opulence and better plumbing
Location: Wine-tram is the main thing./
The staff were keen, helpful and charming although their help finding transport to nearby Stellenbosch reeked of one price for foreigners until I got a bit upset and the price went down almost by half (a common SA phenomenon sadly). Both rooms (and I only needed or wanted one) had ceiling to floor windows and only net curtains or heavy dark curtains. So, privacy was a major issue. A set of light blinds would have made all the difference. Also the bath was leaking through inadequate sealing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Beautiful Hotel, Excellent Service

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Big rooms, great service, positive experience.
Location: very close to Ryan's Kitchen restaurant which I highly recommend for a fantastic meal.
We stayed one night at the Protea in Franschhoek and it was one of our best hotel experiences in South Africa. The hotel is beautiful with a pool in the central courtyard. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Big bathtub in the the bathroom. The staff was excellent and sent us a bottle of champaign when they heard it was our honeymoon. Breakfast was included which was much appreciated.