Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastbourne, England

Good position just outside a busy town

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Position, views and room.
Cons: As stated in the summary.
Location: Excellent for golf and wine t o usr also the weekend family market was well worth a visit to sit and eat and relax listening to music.
Was upgraded and the room view was outstanding, would definitely book the same room here again. Only disappointment was the service at breakfast. Was difficult Each day to get a pot of tea, staff need to learn to engage better with customers be interested in your customers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

No complaints!

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: Location, overall room size and appointment.
Cons: Staff could improve their attentiveness at breakfast. Internet was spotty.
Location: Was a good location from which to visit many local wineries. Stellenbosch is not far (5-10 minute drive), and Franchoek is only 30 minutes.
A solid hotel for the price. The location is fine and amenities decent. Price compared to surrounding properties was very competitive. Overall, we had a good stay and would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice safe hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Zin and Jayce provided the best assistance one could expect, over the top!
Cons: The location is great, but suggest that the hotel might want to consider offering a shuttle service to the historic downtown which is one of the key
The staff was very, very helpful right from the moment we arrived to helping us locate a couple of missing pieces and our departure. They willing arranged for a Wine Tour and ordering drivers when needed. We felt secure and safe throughout the stay..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Billy from Zimbabwe Harare

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel your rooms are nice

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Rooms comfort service and food
Cons: Add car rentals to your business
No comment the service was just nice your rooms are we enjoined our stay we will next time again .We suggested that the hotel offer car rentals as another line of business as well to burst its revenue and it will be more convenience to us .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a very good hotel in a lovely town

Posted Jul 6, 2013
We are lucky that when we arrived in Stellenbosch the weather changed from Rainy day into Sunny days. Under the blue sky and white clouds, we moved into the lovely, clean, and carefully operated Protea hotel. It is just three start one, but operated in a very efficient way, clean and lovely and convenient. The food served there is also nice, and the staff is willing to help. It is hard to find any defect with them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful setting

Posted Mar 11, 2010
It was a great hotel and the setting was beautiful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not impressed

Posted Mar 10, 2010
Room not serviced upon arrival Restaurant not available due to large number of outside group bookings Evening meal arrangements consisted of a menu of Salad, Main Course of Pasta and Bolognaise or Chicken and Rice all with an option of some vegetables. No sweet course was available. Hotel remote and therefore other options not easy
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Inverness, Scotland.

Stellenbosch Protea

Posted Mar 9, 2007
Nice comfortable hotel with friendly staff,the rooms are nicely decorated,food is very good and downstairs at the back of the hotel there is another eating place called the Black Bull who do barbeques and I had the pleasure of cooking my own the day I arrived.If you are a disco dancing person you can dance the night away here to the music.Only draw back I found was that the small swimming pool was a bit out of the way depending what room you had on the complex otherwise no complaints really.