Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Andre from Cape Town

Noisy Location

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
This Hotel is situated on a very busy corner of Dorp Street and the R44 Main Road from Somerset West. Although it's centrally situated in Stellenbosch the traffic noise penetrates most of the rooms. I have requested a quiet room at the time of booking on the advise from other travellers on websites, not realising that it doesn't really exist. The room was very spacious with the bedroom above the sitting room. The bathroom has half walls and is therefore not very private. The parking space for vehicles in front of the hotel is very limited and works on a first come first served basis. We had to park at the back of the Hotel underneath the building and it is very difficult to get a car in down a ramp and through a narrow entrance. The breakfast was adequate and is what you expect from a 3* Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cheryl from Hillcrest, Durban

Our stay in Stellies

Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
The double bed is too small. You should look at getting at least queen size. Otherwise our stay was very pleasant
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Duncan from Johannesburg

ok

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was ok. Not the best but not the worst.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, fl

Posted Dec 9, 2014
It was great. The staff was accommodating and the room was lovely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Peter from South Africa

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel was nice - room 4 where I stayed was between the road and the common dinning room so it was rather noisy. Other than that a nice little hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Aliso Viejo, CA

Prota Hotel Dorpshuis

Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels
We stayed there between Xmas and New Year, and found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, both in giving advice on where to eat, and helping find which wineries would be open over New Year. Our reservation was for a standard room, which did not come with a king bed, and so the receptionist asked another couple if they would be prepared to switch rooms for us. (Not because I made so much fuss, but because it was our anniversary and I was disappointed with the accommodation.) All in all, a homely place, where you will get your money's worth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Solid value and great service

Posted Nov 22, 2011
Location: Downtown Stellenbosch is great. Taxis are nonexistent so while it is nice in the wine farms it is nice to be central and can walk around in the evenings or days. Felt safe all the time..
Great rate, good people, nice location to walk around, and incredible beds/pillows. Only thing keeping the stay perfect was internet connectivity was non existent so if you need this in the room then you may want to reconfirm before booking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nicht empfehlenswert

Posted May 6, 2009
Sehr gemischte Beurteilung: Der Service ist sehr freundlich und auch das Frühstücksbuffet ist gut. Die Lage allerdings an einer viel befahrenen Kreuzung, damit sehr laut. Die Zimmer waren in bedauernswertem Zustand: Sehr heruntergekommen und mit starkem Schimmel im Bad. Nach einer Beschwerde haben wir zumindest ein akzeptables Zimmer bekommen und das auch ohne Diskussionen. Trotzdem würden wir bei unserem nächsten Aufenthalt in Stellenbosch definitiv ein anderes Hotel buchen. Die neueren, scheinbar moderneren Zimmer aus der Beschreibung waren allerdings nicht verfügbar.