Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Worst hotel. Ever.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Adan and a lady in the restaurant with red hair actually smiled. They may have literally been the only ones.
Cons: Everything. Literally. There isn't one aspect of that hotel's operation that shouldn't be reworked.
Location: Location was good. Quick walk or Uber to Long Street.
Bad check in - they ask guests to "guess" how much they might spend in a day to determine the credit card hold authorization amount. Rooms not prepared as we had asked - after asking 3 times we gave up. We needed one room with one bed, and another room with two beds, which apparently is too much work for them. This hotel is falsely advertised on Expedia - they DO NOT have king sized beds. We were placed in a room with a queen and the hotel staff told me that was their king size. Elevators under construction for over a year now. Two elevators are available but very slow. Rooms very small, the professional photos are misleading. Be prepared to duck to not hit your head on the wall-mounted TV. Feces smell coming from the shower drain. New Year's Eve party poorly managed and folks without VVIP access were allowed in that area, creating a 40 minute wait at the bar. Communication from the top-down is non-existent. Every time we asked an employee a question, they said, "Let me go get my manager." Staff are rude and act like you are an inconvenience to them. No semblance of customer service happening at this place. The entire hotel is disorganized and poorly managed. We stayed for 6 nights, so the problems were compounded each day. Bottom line - service is terrible. I can guarantee you will get more for your money at a hostel for a much cheaper price. Don't let your fabulous vacation to Cape Town be overshadowed by a terrible hotel experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for walking

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Breakfast was great, laundry was easy to have done, staff very friendly. Location was close to tourist locations (the Company Gardens, museums, St George's Cathedral).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Janneman , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for the review - we are looking forward to welcome you back and I am sure there are a few more places to explore and experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice location... but the rooms are very small

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Location is great
Cons: Get a coffee station for breakfast!!
Hotel is in a good location in the city, close to long street and Kloof Nek. The rooms are very small and the furnishings are now getting dated. The bathroom is part of the room with the washbasin and the shower being in the room, which isnt great. The pool area is very small, so not great if you want to relax around the pool. I stayed here in December which was very busy, it took around 15 minutes each morning to get a cup of coffee at breakfast, there wasnt a coffee station to help yourself, you had to order from the staff, who were extremely busy. One morning had to wait 10 minutes to get cutlery as there was no clean cutlery on the tables. Overall I found this hotel expensive for the facilities and service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Friendly staff, close to city spots and only 10mins from the waterfront.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Janneman , Hotel Management
Dear Oscar - thank you for staying with us and we hope you had a great time exploring and experiencing Cape Town - looking forward to welcome you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg South Africa

the hotel was excellent the welcoming was good

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: it has nice rooms
Cons: Honesty of their staff
Location: the location is good
the only problem is that I forgot the black bag Mmimos paper bag which two hand bags in it, one is new. I tried to call with no luck. they always promised to comeback to me, still waiting
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Janneman , Hotel Management
Dear Zac Thank you for staying with us and I am sorry about the missing bag - please make contact with me. Wishing you safe travels and looking forward to welcome you back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice apartments. Problems with plumbing.

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Good check in. Plumbing problems not resolved. A few of the restaurant staff quite rude. Complaints dealt with by one good manager. Check out a nightmare hotel tried to overcharge. Incorrect amount deducted from credit card overcharged by over 34,000 rands. Not amused.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Pros: Great location with a very friendly staff.
Location: Plenty of things to do aropund the hotel site.
Good facilities, but the rooms were very small and cramped. No warnings were given about the room size.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

Poor facilities

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Small room. No bathroom. Poor lifts. Trickle only of hot water in wash basin. No globe in toilet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Port Elizabeth

Great Hotel but some rooms are just too noisy

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: Location, Friendly Staff, and obviously the Milkshakes... they are to die for.
Cons: Unlimited Wifi, Gym closing time as we had people training at 12am whilst we were trying to sleep.
The staff was fanstastic, the location is fantastic. The only problem is getting booked into a room so close to the gym. Constantly hearing the dropping of weights was an annoyance. Also the cleaning staff slamming doors shut wasn't soothing. I really enjoyed the hotel but I can't help but think if I was placed in a better room I would have none of the above concerns. The simple fact is we were put right next to the gym. Other than that a fantastic hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Close to bars. Walking distance of city sights.

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Good location.
Location: Close to Long St bars, tourist buses, museums etc
Following England cricket team for Cape town test and then sight seeing for a further week. Hotel is close to main tourist bus office which allowed for sight seeing to both inner and outer city sights such as Table Mountain (when open), Constanta wine tasting, Hout Bay, Botanical Gardens. Within 20 minutes walk of the hotel were National Gallery, District 6 museum, Cape Castle, Slave House, and Bo Kaap museum which I also visited. The Waterfront is approx 30 minutes walk from hotel.