Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Just could have been do much better for the money. Everything was just ok,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Beautiful hotel.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
The location along the water is great. The latch on the patio door in my room (room 318) was broken. There was a slight odor of old urine in the bathroom around the toilet bowl
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mallorca

Beautiful hotel with incredible views!

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Infinity pool overlooking the sea, with views towards Robbin island and the V&A. Table mountain right behind.
Had a two week stay here, holiday/business. Cannot find fault with the hotel , it's staff or amenities. Incredibly hospitable staff, rooms were immaculate as was the entire hotel. Already booked for later in the year!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated hotel -downgrades bookings via Expedia

Posted Feb 21, 2017
1st floor room next to housekeeping services room with laundry going 24x7. No hairdryer in room or proper toiletries in room upon arrival. Toilet not cleaned properly during stay. Pool tiny. Outdoor dining area lovely, but menu just average.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked the outdoor dining area and regret to hear you were dissatisfied with the rest of your stay. We apologize you were disappointed with the amenities in your room, the size of the pool, and the noise that disturbed your stay. We value your feedback and have shared your comments with hotel management to continually improve our guest experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Nice hotel right on the waterfront

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Booked a 2 double bed room but was given a 1 king bed .. they did not make it right but split the bed into 2 singles with oversized bedding.. also there was only 1 chair for 2 adults
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Debra Sivertsen, Hotel Management
Dear George Thank you for taking the time to send us your valuable feedback and complete a review. We do apologise that you experienced a issue with regards to the bed type you specified during your stay. I have addressed it with the Housekeeping management team. On behalf of myself and the hotel, I do apologise that you were inconvenienced during your stay due to this. I do hope that you stay with us again when you next visit Cape Town and we can then ensure that the beds you requested are in order prior to check in. I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit South Africa. Kind regards Debra Sivertsen General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Nice Setting on the waterfront

Posted Jan 24, 2017
I did not have a good experience..I booked a 2 double bed room but got a 1 king size .. instead of making it right they split the king into 2 singles with oversized bedding .. also we only had 1 comfortable chair
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Debra Sivertsen, Hotel Management
Dear George, Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. I am however happy to hear your request was seen to and sorted out in a speedy manner. Please be advised your comments have been noted and reviewed. Many thanks for your business and hope to see you again . Best regards Debra Sivertsen General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice spot on the waterfront

Posted Jan 17, 2017
It's a nice hotel in a great spot on the waterfront but there is no beach and not within walking distance to much else (V&A Waterfront is 15 minute walk).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2017 by Debra Sivertsen, Hotel Management
Dear Jeff, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to tell us about your positive experience. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront. We look forward to your next stay! Please “Like” us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming news, events and promotions. Best regards Debra Sivertsen General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was very helpful. Moved us to a room with a beautiful view which was much appreciated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear verified traveller, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to tell us about your positive experience. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront. We look forward to your next stay! Please “Like” us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming news, events and promotions. Best regards Debra Sivertsen General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Won't stay there again

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Wrong room. Was promised I'd be moved to sea facing on day 2 Requested 2 singles got a double Shower not working properly Lights went off on day of checkout had to pack in the dark
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Elin, Hotel Management
Dear Warren, thank you for taking your time to write to us! We are sorry to hear that you did not receive the service we aim to provide to all our guests from our staff at the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention; Your feedback will be reviewed for further improvements at the hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sea view priceless

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Specifically requested room with wooden floors, not so when I arrived, had to go back to reception to change room, a bit annoying as I arrived from out out town and late in the evening. Room was changed and I got a really nice room with a sea view. My overall stay was good, can't help to think that the hotel could do with some renovations, it's a nice hotel at a premium location, but it's a bit dated.