Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Anike from Cape Town

Great for a spontaneous overnight in Franschhoek

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed the spa suite but the process of setting it up as a bit of a mission. The tap is on the wall so you have to climb into the empty tub to switch it on and jump out again so you don't get wet. The plug was also quite complicated and I had to improvise by using a cork covered in a plastic bag just to let the tub fill up before I couple replace it with the actual plug. There was very little ventilation in the room so it steamed up totally and I had to open windows and doors on an icy winters night just to be able to breathe which wasn't very pleasant but luckily there were panel heaters so it wasn't too bad. I slept extremely well, the bed and bedding was very comfortable and I absolutely loved the kitchenette which was stocked with milo, coffee and a nice variety of teas. I also liked the heater in the bathroom which kept the toilet seat nice and warm. I was a bit sad that the outside jacuzzi was broken but I'm sure they're looking to get it fixed. David was very helpful and friendly in checking me in and making sure I was comfortable. Signal for card payment wasn't the best but eventually after 15 minutes of holding the card machine up in the air the transaction went through. All in all a perfect overnight stay in franschhoek, conveniently located in the centre of town close to the tasting room and tuk tuk brewery.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
This B&B is perfect for taking the wine tram, which is only 1 block away.
4 out of 5
by Arya

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Desigan from cape town

Disappointing stay

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels
Location was great. Room was not so great. Towels were off white. Shower had a spider in it with spider webs from ceiling to shower structure. NO hot water. Shower ceiling needs to be cleaned. Window blinds didnt close all the way. Walls in some areas need work. Limited tv service. Disappointed, not great value for money. We left as soon as we woke up the next day.
4 out of 5
by Mark from Teddington, UK

Wonderful,homely,cottage style retreat ....

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. George was a great host and it's sad to hear that he is having to sell the property for personal reasons. The room was very comfortable and the breakfasts basic but very yummy. I hope the new owner keeps up the high standards - and doesn't add too much in terms of new buildings or at least does it tastefully !
4 out of 5
by agrund from stellenbosch

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels
not too great...No coffee plunger, shower door broke, rattling door!not aware that hot breakfast was extra.....will NOt go back!A
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nairobi

Excellent centrally located hotel

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Large room, kitchen, staff friendlyness, pool/garden, good breakfast.
Cons: hot breakfast included (or offered instead of cold breakfast). The carpet could have been a bit cleaner.
Location: Excellent restaurants. Wine, Champagne, cheese and chocolate tastings. Picnics (Warwick is highly recommended) hiking, wild life parks
We stayed at ReaLou for seven nights in April 2014 and enjoyed it very much! Our room was big, had a small kitchen (perfect when you have small kids) and a large bathroom. Breakfast was served right outside the room on the veranda. (Unfortunately only cold breakfast is included in the price, hot breakfast is extra.) The garden has a swimming pool which the kids loved. The staff and also the owner were very nice and always eager to help out and inform us about interesting things to do and places to visit. The hotel is centrally located in Franschhoek and restaurants, supermarkets etc are easily reached on foot. It was our third time in Franschhoek and we think it is a perfect base to explore the area around Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by geb, Hotel Management
Many thanks George
4 out of 5
by E & C from NL

Good place to stay in Franschoek

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels
Good value for the rate considering being in center of Franschoek. Very friendly and helpfull owner with good hints on what to do etc. Breakfast was ok and the room was comfortable. During our stay the kitchen was refurbished but we didn't find inconvience. Only the breakfast starting late at 09:00 can be hindering if you make a 1 night stop here when making a roundtrip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by GEB, Hotel Management
Many thanks Earlier Breakfasts are available George
3 out of 5
by Christine from Washington, DC

Disappointing

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: There was one very professional employee, Innocent, whom I would highly recommend. He was gracious and helpful and a pleasure to speak with.
Cons: Service in general.
I have been to Franshchoek before and the other places I've stayed had an extremely high quality of service and were immaculately presented - even without a high price tag. Realou, on the other hand, didn't respond to an email request for the promised complimentary airport transfer, and the room had cold, tile floors and many small signs of carelessness, like instant coffee rather than a coffee press. My biggest complaint was that the owner was dismissive of small requests and acted like I was in the way, rather than a guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jenny from Alcamo, Italia

Good value in a good location

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Staff and location
Location: quiet yet close to town, also close to a number of good golf courses
This guest house is in an excellent location on a quiet street close to the centre of town. we thought that it was great value, with a small swimming pool and lovely outside area to have breakfast or relax after being in town. The staff were superb.