Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Nicholas

Quaint guesthouse in a quaint town

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Had a short one night stay in Stellenbosch and Riverbos was a great choice. You enter via a gated courtyard which has 24-hour manned security (although it doesn't seem necessary in such a quaint area). The staff was very helpful, providing great recommendations in town for food and wine. The breakfast was tasty and a great start to the day. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by Crystal Schmidt, Hotel Management
Dear Nicholas, We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Rivierbos Guest House. We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Management
4 out of 5
by Solomon from Hong Kong

Nice Place to Stay.

Posted Feb 25, 2016 on Hotels
Nice little place to stay and explore downtown Stellenbosh. Rooms are cozy if a little cramped and the Wi-Fi doesn't work too well in the rooms.Service was good and breakfast yummy. Wanted to stay another night but fully booked on a weekday so must be popular!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2016 by Crystal Schmidt, Hotel Management
Dear Solomon, We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Rivierbos Guest House. We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Management
5 out of 5
by EDUARDO

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Gerard from Nuenen, Netherlands

Out of date guesthouse

Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
It is an old building which is not a problem as long as it is maintained properly, and renovated in time. The Rivierbos Guesthouse was not uptodate and needs a large renovation. The bathroom was completely outofdate, the shower was not giving enough water to get wet properly, and the water was leaking on the floor. The standard rooms are quite small. The breakfast was good, nothing wrong with that. I believe that the owner must invest or lose his business in the coming years.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Die Zimmer sind sehr einfach gehalten, die Einrichtung, vor allem das Badezimmer, eher veraltet.
4 out of 5
by Willy from Schweiz

Praktisch gelegen

Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
Für einen Aufenthalt von 2 Tagen ist das Hotel gut geeignet, das Frühstück ist einfach, aber gut, die Zimmer sind gut und geräumig. Get gelegen für den Besuch der Weinregion. Die Rezeption war seh hilfreich mit Restaurant-Empfehlungen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location poor room

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Make the room larger and provide some privacy without losing natural light.
The location and staff of this hotel are excellent. There is also excellent secure parking on site. Unfortunately the room was minute. You couldn't lay out a bag any where without blocking movement around the room. The bathroom door wouldn't open fully because the bed was in the way. If you wanted to watch the tv (which we didn't) it was mounted on the wall at right angles to the bed. One wall was a full length patio style sliding glass doors which opened out onto the main corridor. To maintain privacy the curtains needed to be drawn resulting in no natural light in the room. Fortunately we spent little time in the room so got by.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great if you don't have a car

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
I ended up on Waal street which was a really nice location in Bo-Kamp but the downside was that the security guard to watch your car if on Rose st about a 6mins walk. The breakfast is on a self-serve basis, you want eggs, you cook 'em!
4 out of 5
by Gary from Pretoria

Quiet and close to Restaurants

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
A very quiet place to stay very close to a variety of places to eat within approximately 250m walking distance. I stayed for 2 nights because of the location. I will stay at the Rivierbos again when I return on business.
5 out of 5
by Christine from Pietermaritzburg

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
I really enjoyed my stay at Rivierbos Guest Lodge. All the staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful.My room was lovely, the breakfasts were excellent. I also found that it was in a lovely area and very conveniently situated.