Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Location, size of room
Cons: Cutlery could be replaced. The staff at the check in desk could be more professional
I've stayed in the Rockwell before, and got the exact same room as before. The room is clean, but needs a thorough clean (e.g. layers of dust behind the bed). Cutlery should also be replaced. It is a nice place to stay though. Close to everything you need and the rooms are big. I'll stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient Location

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Safe location close to grocery. Not too far of a walk to the water front. Hospitable staff. Bathroom floods a little when in shower. Exhaust fan broken, so a little mold build up. Shuttle service was not complimentary, so a taxi will be called.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bahrain

Great location

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The staff were great tending to our every need but we needed a lot considering the ligjting was super dim. House keeping did a lousy job at cleaning the room and the washing machine wasnt working properly. None the less, oerfect location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Mixed experience

Posted Sep 2, 2014
The location and room were great, and if it wasn't for the last day I'd highly recommend this hotel... However on the last day: 1) Washing machine leaked water everywhere through leaking pipes 2) I was running late and asked at 10:20am if I could check out at 11:15am instead of 11:00am. Staff advised it would be 150 rand bill for running 15 minutes late. Ouch. Otherwise it was a great experience there and the staff/rooms were quite nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and lovely hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Great! really nice location and the staff were all lovely and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David from Kenya & Durban

Perfect self catering with great location.

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Location, nice to have a apartment v hotel room. Kids can sleep in, you can watch TV. Self catering facilities with shops close by. Breakfast gooood.
Cons: Free internet in the rooms,not just in lobby. Some furnishings need replacing. Sofa clean but stained. Limited DTV channels and old TV, no flat screen
Location: Need car, but Spar and small malls close by. Bar's and restaurants under your nose, great bistro next door...
Overall great place to stay. Needs a few tweaks, like free internet in rooms, larger selection of TV channels, , especilay for kids and flat screen TV's. Hence no 5 star rating. Otherwise overall very happy with by stay, great staff and lively atomiser throughout the hotel. Can recommend for families or couples for comfortable staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for all.

Posted Mar 23, 2013
the hotel was further from the waterfront than i would have liked - but taxis are so cheap, and the walk isn't too bad, it wasn't too much of a problem. The hotel was excellent and the staff were helpful. Great value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convennient location. Comfortable stay

Posted Jan 15, 2012
Cons: Noise on west facing room
Location: Very convenient
Rooms on west side of building extremely noisy at night, due to petrol station and 2 night clubs. East side much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Pretoria, RSA

great experience

Posted Jun 3, 2011
impressive hotel - will certainly go back to the hotel when next in Cape Town
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Grubby

Posted May 25, 2011
The location of the hotel looked perfect. The outside looked great. What I hadn't banked on was a leaking bathroom and grubby carpets and floors. I knew breakfast wasn't included and glad because based on the state of the rooms I would not have risked it, but to also charge additional money for Car Parking when there really isn't much choice was not impressive. The hotel staff were friendly, but having told them that the bathroom was leaking and that the floors looked like they hadn't been cleaned they apologised, said they would do something about it and then did nothing. The final example of a hotel that is not looked after is the curtain rail fell down in the middle of the night. Would never stay here again and would never recommend anyone I know to stay here either.