Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Villiersdorp Western Cape South Afica

Excellent hotel but poor breakfast service

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Excellent room and view
Cons: The service!
Location: Close to restaurants and shops and the V & A Waterfront
We were very pleased with the hotel and its ammendities and the view was great. Unfortunately the service was not. No one asked us whether we needed help with our luggage or even offered a luggage trolley and we had to make two trips down to the parking area to get all our luggage to our room ourselves. Breakfast service was also bad. We sat at the table for 10 minutes without anyone offering us the menu (I had to ask for one) or coffee. It took a bit longer than 30 minutes for our hot breakfast to finally arrive, even though we ordered immediately when we got the menus and the breakfast we ordered were only bacon and eggs. We would stay at Romney Hotel again and the hotel itself was excellent, but they really need to upgrade there service. It is a five star hotel after all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Comfortable and spacious Accomodation

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Safety and comfort
Cons: Lobby area and reception needs an upgrade
Location: Residential area not far from shopping and restaurants and the sea.
The suites are huge and comfortable with ample amenities in them. Very comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. In a quite residential area. Not far from city center and Sea point where good restaurants are. Safe area. Underground Car parking is a little costly.Did not try the in house restaurant and Bar due to lack of time but looked good with great deals. Daily weather updates left in your Room with turn down service was appreciated.Small SPA.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was disappointing

Posted Sep 6, 2016
We were disappointed by the location of our room - it was on the ground floor with the noise of reception at one end and the noise from the pool and restaurant at the other. We requested another room, but the staff did not make an effort to accommodate us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

A real gem of a hotel!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Hotel rooms felt like home. Food was excellent. Nice attention to detail, right down to the carafe of sherry waiting in your room upon check in.
Location: $5 (with tip) taxi to the VA Waterfront or downtown
This boutique hotel is fantastic. In quiet Green Point it is a $5 cab (with tip) to the VA Waterfront or downtown. We were a family of 4 (two teenagers) and we were very comfortable in the 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite. It was very nicely decorated, well appointed and with a great view from the spacious balcony (and we were not on the top floor). The staff were excellent. Helpful, attentive and polite. The gardens were well tended and the brass was all highly polished. Dining in the hotel was excellent and remarkably inexpensive. Breakfast (included) was wonderful. White table cloth, excellent buffet and hot a breakfast table service that high end hotels would have trouble matching. It was too cool to use the pool and deck area except for evening cocktails. The space was nicely decorated and I can imagine, in warmer weather, it would be a beautiful place to lounge in the sun. even though no one was using the area, I saw them washing the deck and wiping down the furniture every morning. We felt we were taking a chance on this hotel, but it proved an absolute winner.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel bem localizado

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Localização, atendimento, limpeza, conforto
Cons: Café da manhã
Location: Próximo ao Water Front, Green Park, Centro da cidade
Eu e minha família passamos alguns dias em Cape Town, fomos bem atendidos pelo pessoal do hotel.
5 out of 5
by Vania from São Paulo


Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
As suítes são impecáveis. Serviço excelente. Todos os dias colocavam a previsão do vento e temperatura do dia seguinte. Muito bom. O wi-fi funcionava apenas em alguns lugares do apartamento, pode ser melhor. O café é extraordinário. Recomendo.
4 out of 5
by Dilip from Karratha, Australia

Loved this place

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the room - Senator Suite was more than adequate for our family of 2 adults and 2 kids. With two bathrooms / toilets, it was convenient. The lounge area was excellent for entertaining our local friends and enjoying some South African food and wine! Breakfast was great with ample quantities of everything and the hot breakfast that was included with the room was just perfect for an early morning boost.
5 out of 5
by Brad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Weeranuch from Bangkok

Cape Town family trip

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel with great service. Breakfast was superb.
5 out of 5
by Cindy from Johannesburg

We love Romney Park!

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
We were upgraded to the Presidential Suite. What a wonderful stay! The staff was great, the food was great and overall it was an amazing stay.