Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Michele from Suzhou, China

Lovely Lodge!

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay at the Seacliffe Lodge! The attentiveness of the staff at breakfast was superb. The cook is delightful and Suegne is very pleasant and personable. We plan on going back to South Africa and we would definitely stay here. It's a small, quaint lodge that is a great value for your $$. We stayed here the entire 12 days we were there. It's in close proximity to Cape Town and tourist attractions. I highly recommend staying here!
5 out of 5
by Anthony from Fort Lauderdale Florida

Great Stay

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels
Great hotel, excellent service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guildford, England

Disappointing location

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: The bed was confortable and clean and the breakfast was good
Cons: The meet and greet Cleanleness of the balcony Operation of the wi-fi
Location: The general area and beach close to the hotel was dirty, the buildings were industrial and it felt very unsafe to walk around the area.
Our experience in thishotel was not good. On arrival at the hotel we were welcomed by a maid who took us to our room, the room was a standard room without a balcony, even though we had booked a sea view room with a balcony. I complained that we had been put in the incorrect room at which point we were given the 'seaview' room. The sea view room overlooked a number of industrial metal buildings. Between the hotel and these building is a very busy road which meant the 'sea view' room was very noisy. The view was not a 'sea view', it was of a working fishing dock. The room itself was clean and well presented but the external balcony was very dirty covered in green mould. The hotel wi-fi could not be used in our room and I had to sit in a communial area to achieve a connection. The breakfast was good quality and plentiful. The owner of the hotel ingnored us during our stay and left the hotel maid to deal with us.
5 out of 5
by Burgert from Johannesburg

Perfect stay

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels
Very comfortable stay in a great location. Perfect for people who like staying in Guest Houses / Small hotel and still have their privacy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Friendly and well located!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Friendly and helpful customer service from staff, great value for money and location.
Location: Trip to Seal Island outside the bay. Beach to play on. Local markets to shop in. Short distance into central Cape Town.
A friendly welcome and experience throughout our stay. Seacliffe Lodge is a great location near the beach and a number of great restaurants. The rates represent good value for money, particularly with a great breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Isi from London

Close to beach and good seafood restaurant

Posted Mar 17, 2014
We had a great trip to Cape Town and it was nice to stay outside of the city near the coast with good access to Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch, Chapman's Peak, Cape Point,Constantia Valley and Stellenbosch. Our lodgings were comfortable clean and inviting, breakfast made to order and a good start to the day. Our needs and requests were promptly met and we were given helpful advice. Seafood restaurant opposite; very good and provided us with our evening meal within walking distance (2 minutes) and allowed us both to have a glass of wine. Car necessary for trips as transport links are limited
4 out of 5
by Estelle from South Africa

Friendly Service

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels
Owners very friendly and helpful. Beautiful view onto beach and mountain and harbour. Clean and comfortable bed and room,wrong day to visit as factory busy milling fish.Unfortunately no aircon and could not open windows due to bad smell which left the room without air.
3 out of 5
by cjwinthesun from Cyprus

A standard B&B

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Location. Able to come and go freely. Honesty bar and nice sitting area. Good internet. Comfortable bed with nice bedding.
Cons: Very small and somewhat 'tired' shower room. No air con.
Location: Good location. Near beach, harbour and boat trip, local market, two very good restaurants and great for trip to Cape of Good Hope and Constantia wine
4 nights stay and adequate for our (couple) needs at the end of 16 nights along the garden route. Breakfast sufficient with fruit, cereals and choice of hot freshly cooked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Stuart from Gauteng

Great place, value for momey

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels
not a problem at all with the Lodge. Only issue I had was that there was no aircon in the room and there should have at least been a fan. There is nothing to do in Hout Bay, but that is no fault of the Lodge's.