Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Great position, lovely staff, welcoming atmosphere

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Place, people and price.
Cons: Pity the dining area is in the darkest spot without a view.
Location: Close to Kalk Bay with its lovely shops and restaurants. Nearby tidal pool and beach across the road. Lovely part of Cape Town.
My second stay at Sonnekus and will most certainly return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well situated for beach, shops and restaurants

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Very friendly and helpful hosts
Great base for visiting Cape attractions, Constantia wine route, family beach in Fish Hoek, great shops close by. And good quality restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malawi

Wonderful Guesthouse in Great Location

Posted Dec 25, 2015
We stayed at Sonnekus for 11 days. The location is excellent - opposite a beach, St James tidal pool and a walkway. It a five minute walk from vibrant Kalk Bay with its many shops and restaurants, as well as good hiking trails on the mountain. Hosts Pat, Mike and Nick are very warm and welcoming. They serve an excellent breakfast with a varied array of delicious fresh fruit, meats, cheese, yoghurt, rolls, as well as a cooked breakfast of your choice. The house is beautifully appointed in a style that suits the period of the house. Our bedroom (Whelk) had a sea view. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and attractive. Even though Sonnekus is on the main road, the curtains are thick and it was reasonably quiet. We loved staying there and recommend it whole-heartedly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sally from Petersfield

Lovely people

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Mike, Pat and Nick are lovely people and were willing to accommodate at every turn. Very laid back environment - you can really relax and wind down. Honesty bar is very convenient. It is just across the road from the beach. Mike was very caring and gave me a lift both fromthe airport and back into town with a diversion enroute so thank you very much for this. I would recommend this guest house for groups of friends who could stay in all of the beautiful and different rooms. TV very old but perhaps that is a good idea on holiday when you should be outside taking advantage of all of the natural beauty that Kalk Bay has to offer. I would definitely recommend and stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by C A from Durban

Cosy home from home

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
Just loved the homeliness and warm welcome after a long day of adventuring . Thank you Sonnekes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Manish from Fremont

2nd time in Cape Town

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed at Sonnekus for 4 nights during our stay in the Cape Town area. It is a charming but somewhat retro place. The location is very nice, just steps from the beach in the front and beautiful views of the mountains on the back. The owners are very friendly and nice people. Kalk Bay is a short walk and have some nice restaurants, cafes and artsy shops. Apparently due to the road work in nearby Muizenberg, the internet was down. That is a problem for international travelers, but it takes a long time to fix things in Africa when a govt. entity (Telkom) is involved.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay but decor outdated

Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels
A brief 1-night stay in March 2015 on our way to Cape Point from the wine country. A nice safe location for walking to dinner, and right across the street from the water. The hotel owners were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was well prepared. With no A/C we slept with the windows open (it was a warm summer night) and there was some street noise, but nothing intolerable. My only real complaint is cosmetic - it's a really beautiful old house but could definitely use some upgrading. The bedding and decor throughout the house had an outdated 90's feel that reminded me of being at my grandparents house. But overall it was a pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Harry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Geoff from Johannesburg

Sonnekus Guest Home

Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel does not have a secure parking facility. We were not asked about our choice of rooms and it was quite evident that there were better rooms available.