Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Very spacious rooms, close to sea.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
We stayed in eight different locations during our trip to South Africa and this was the best accommodation. Huge room, lots of light. Safe and secure. Excellent location for touring the Peninsula.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Mother1, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a glowing review. We really appreciate positive feedback. Kind regards, The Sonnekus Team
5 out of 5
by margaret

Outstanding

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
A lovely family run guest house with enormous rooms and fabulously convenient location. Although on the main road it is quiet inside and just 10-15 minutes walk from great fish restaurants at Kalk Bay. The fact that most other guests had stayed previously says it all. We will certainly return
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a glowing review. We really appreciate the positive feedback, and will share it with the team. Very best wishes, The Sonnekus Team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach front Gem

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Simply divine location with free parking , free WiFi and Amazing Breakfast . BIG rooms with great bathrooms . yes slightly old fashioned , traditional style but that homely feel was perfect for us. Finally as drinkers to have a huge Fridge downstairs full of booze that you access as required and just write down what you take ( honesty bar ) was superb. £3 a bottle of wine WOW! NO NEGATIVES TO REPORT Xx Pat Mike & Nick Thank you x
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by The happy hostess., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review, it's really great to have such happy, satisfied guests.
5 out of 5
by catherine

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
I was happy with my weekend @ Sonnekus the only thing I was not happy with its the TV. as my kids love to watch their program in the dstv there was no channels for them to watch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate your input. I must apologize for not thinking to change the TV channels to accommodate your children.
5 out of 5
by Ingrid

A sunrise not to be missed

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Our 2 nights were comfortable and relaxed - the hosts were accommodating and interesting - breakfast was excellent - conversations with hosts - always eager to help us - provided interesting history of their personal courage and their journey and the building which made us feel a part of the place and the people - the house is beautifully crafted, so well done wherever an eye might land, simple and beautiful workmanship. additionally, has direct beach access across the street - clean, inviting and in a beautiful location. the front porch seems a gallery seat to the world - sunrise there the most incredible we have ever witnessed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank yo for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. We really appreciate your positive feedback.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent very good food very helpfull freindly good location would definiently go again good value for money
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. Happy New Year to you and all your loved ones.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superb stay which I couldn't fault

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
A very warm welcome from Pat, easy and quick check in. Our room (Cowrie) was enormous, the biggest room I have ever stayed in. Totally my style of decor with a big comfortable bed. Views of the ocean were to die for. Easy drive to points of interest, fantastic sunset from Chapmans peak and lovely dining options. We loved our stay, only wish we had stayed longer. Thank you to Pat and the team for making our stay wonderful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hollywood, Florida

THE place to stay when visiting Capetown

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: The helpfulness of the owners. The location, across from the ocean. The delicious breakfasts. The comfortable room.
Cons: There is NOTHING that could have made our stay better. NOTHING. This is the perfect Bed and Breakfast.
Location: It is located 20 minutes from downtown Capetown, and only 5 minutes from the beach front town of Kalks Bay. There are many restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna Niguel

Pampered stay

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
The room was very nicely appointed and roomy. Everything in the room was comfortable and well thought out. The breakfast was amazing and afternoon tea was delicious. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Janet from Pretoria

Fantastic

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
I will be back