Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Laid back Luxury

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The well appointed rooms and relaxed lounge area, with drinks
Cons: Minor attention to the pool area
Location: Nice beach across the road with a tidal pool. Short walk to hippy Kalks bay along the coast road. Kalks bay itself has a number of (busy) restaurants
Lovely stay at the St. James Homestead. Staff (especially Clive) really friendly and accommodating. The rooms are superb: beautifully decorated and refined. The kitchen and lounge areas with the all inclusive drinks and nibbles, make it a very relaxed but pampered atmosphere. The pool area is good too with great views over the sea. Enjoyed the breakfasts which were cooked to order and delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Lee-Anne Koller, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Meryl, Thank you for the feedback received. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the valued feedback. Wishing you a pleasant 2017. With best regards, Lee-Anne Koller
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shanghai

Excellent Stay - pleasantly surprised

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Everything..
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very convenient and close to Falk Bay as well as Cape Point
This is a great old house converted into a hotel with only 7 rooms. The entire ground floor is used as a study, reception, lounge, dining hall and a bar which is very spacious and old colonial style. Rooms are well designed and very comfortable. Staff are courteous, helpful and always eager to please. Both the persons on day duty, Michael as well as Goodnews were very helpful and took care of all our queries. Amazing to find a hotel that let you use the entire Bar on the ground floor and let you have any drinks for free, including champagnes, wines, cognac, liqueurs, scotch etc.. Very convenient location quite close to Falk Bay and about 30 minutes from Cape Point.. Whilst all hotels refers to its customers as Guest, whilst the St James Manor and its staff actually makes you feel like a real GUEST..
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Lee-Anne Koller, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review. We strive towards experience orientated offerings, and celebrate that your experience has been real. We trust that you will enjoy the remainer of 2017. With best regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A return visit already anticipated

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Great location. Great value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the St James Guesthouses. We look forward to welcoming you back within the near future. With best regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
There is absolutely nothing to complain about. Amazing place. Book it now before it's gone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the compliment. We will be sure to give thanks to the team on your behalf. Wishing you all the best for 2017. With best regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxury feel and comfort of home

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing hotel right on the beach. Luxurious property and beachfront view with incredible staff. Best part about it is the beer, wine and liquor included as part of the room.
5 out of 5
by hamza from Antibes

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great people and beautiful place to stay, feel like home
2 out of 5
by Steve

Poorly managed shambles

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
This was once a great example of the best of South African hospitality. It is now a shambles and its easy to see why. I emailed a complaint to the CEO and he didn't even respond.
5 out of 5
by Lesley from Donegal

A little piece of Downtown abbey

Posted Feb 4, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful gracious old house with reading rooms/balconies and fine furniture, helpful friendly and very efficient staff. Comfortable rooms with all modern amenities cable tv wi-fi, teas, and coffee with a treat (usually chocolate) to savour. Breakfast a freshly prepared feast every morning. Secure parking, walking distance to a number of beach front restaurants and cafes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Wonderful old building

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: Cape point, Simons town, beaches and Kalk bay
We couldn't believe our luck. The place is immaculate and very luxurious. Our only problem was our air conditioning failed. The staff did a great job and provided us with a fan. Helpful staff also helped to arrange transport for visits. For the price you would be hard pressed to find anything like the same quality. A really nice calming break from the bustle of Cape Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abuja, Nigeria

Comfortable and close to everything

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: Comfort
Cons: Internet - essentially did not have any access.
Location: Near beaches, restaurants, shopping and people watching.
Great location for a quiet night close to restaurants, shopping, and incredible views. All inclusive was much more than we needed. Disappointed that internet was not better and generally unavailable in rooms despite Expedia claim.