Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Most welcoming and friendly place

Posted Aug 18, 2016
We stayed for one night and absolutely loved it. The staff were the friendliest I have met and attentive without being intrusive. Loved biking through the vineyards to the Bistro, and breakfast was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Nicole Clarke, Hotel Management
Good day Becky, Thank you for your review. We work hard to make our guests happy and greatly appreciate your feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Fantastic scenery but would not recomend staying.

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: The scenery.
Cons: Lighting , towels, bathrobes, poor management.
Location: 30 mins from Cape Town.
Check in consists of signing paperwork that allows them to take your money if you lose or don't return 2 keys for access to the rooms and to exit their security, seemed bizarre to us. Shown to the premier suite we had booked, it had a patio overlooking the golf course. The suite was large but had no sunlight and very poor lighting so was dismally dark. The towels and bathrobes were apalling and are in desperate need of replacing, if you should take one or the corkscrew you would be charged, no one would ever want to take them. We would not want to return to this hotel and certainly is below par to many that we have stayed in around South Africa.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2016 by Catherine Schulze, Hotel Management
Good morning Lorraine, Thank you for taking the time for sharing your feedback. All feedback is appreciated and can only assist the team on focusing on the areas highlighted. We endeavour to deliver the very best to all our guests. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Jan 24, 2016
We only stayed a night but it was a very luxurious night! A real treat!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Good day Matt, Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Outstanding

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Stunning scenery on the steenberg estate with absolute excellent customer service. All hotel staff extremely friendly and attentive to every need and personable. Food in Catharinas excellent also as was the massage and spa in Ginku!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect location for a relaxing holiday

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: The quiet and secluded nature of the hotel and winery.
Cons: Apart from the golf shop there was no other shop on the hotel site, this could be added to include necessities and some small souvenirs.
Location: We found the tours very good particularly the wineries and the peninsula. Also the helicopter tour was very good.
We just loved the hotel and winery, particularly the Bistro. My husband played golf which he said was excellent and I enjoyed the lovely spa. The room we had was beautiful and the main restaurant was very good. The hotel is tucked away in a secured property so we felt very safe and private in the lovely grounds of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sioned from me

Beautiful location , stunning Dutch Cape building

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: Loved the location , the style , and the personalble service
Cons: Communication between team members ; and also greater consideration of accommodation guests , when they take large outside catering function parties
Location: Fabulous location albeit not as rural as we might have expected . Great for wine tasting , and touring Constancian wineries
Loved everything about the weekend , and would recommend it as a memorable amd stylish place to stay . Only two points of feedback spoilt the experience . Firstly they were happy to allow children to play football for hours on the beautiful lawn , which didn't really support the peaceful , luxurious position of the hotel . Secondly we booked a bike ride and picnic , but despite a beautiful guided bike ride , and wine tasting , the picnic never transpired . Although they were very apologetic , it did spoil the experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Peter from Manchester, UK

One of the best hotels ever!

Posted Nov 27, 2011
Location: The V&A Waterfront is a must to visit. Good hotels and restaurants are plentiful. Also a trip to Robben Island and the cable car to Table Mountain are must do's. It's vital to pre-book both though.
I practically live out of hotels as I travel the world extensively on business. The Steenberg Hotel rates as one of the best I've ever stayed in. Pulling up at the main security gate, staff were expecting me and the barrier was lifted. As I drove up through the vineyards to the hotel, I was waved through and pulled up outside reception. The duty manager welcomed my wife and I and ushered us through to check-in which was an easy process. We were offered a drink and then were taken across the gardens to our luxury room. By the time we got there, our luggage had been put in the room and the car had been parked for us. We were shown the facilities and then left in peace. A couple of hours later I called reception for an ironing board, which was delivered within 5 minutes along with a maid who offered to iron my shirts. We walked across the garden to Catharinas Restaurant where we stopped to photograph an owl and her two chicks which was a wondrous sight from close up. Then we were welcomed for what turned out to be a sumptuous meal which we both enjoyed tremendously. Then a good nights sleep and a fantastic breakfast outside on the terrace. Check-out was easy and our packed car awaited us outside reception. The price for all this was cheaper than you would expect, can't wait to go back, which we will.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bristol United Kingdom

Outstanding stay at Steenberg

Posted Apr 13, 2010
My husband and I had a wonderful stay at this very special hotel in the winelands of Constantia. Our room overlooked the vineyards and had its own terrace which was prepared for us each day before we were up! the room was more than comfortable it really was very special indeed. As for breakfast and dinner - completely outstanding in choice, style and food. The chef we hear has many awards to his name and he obviously deserves them. We shall be back (as soon as we can) - I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be looked after without being suffocated and particularly if you like golf - the course is apparently amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Merthyr Tydfil WALES

a perfect getaway

Posted Sep 20, 2009
a warm wellcome awaits you at the steenberg hotel service and frindliness seems to be the priority of the staff . the hotel is situated in a superb location quiet and peacefull yet withi n a 20 minute drive from the cetre of cape town this hotel is well worth avisit would definately return
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from durham

A pearl of a hotel in magical setting

Posted Feb 21, 2009
a small hotel in a perfect position-surrounded by its own vinyard-the first in Cape Town-with first class facilities and discreet professional staff.SUPERB restaurant-we intended to try restaurants in the area but dined every night of our stay in the hotel.We will return!