Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by barry from Ickenham

Perfect stay

Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Hotels
We were very pleasantly surprised at everything about this hotel and thouroughly recommend it. It's only A few minutes out from the centre of Srellenbosch in a fantastic country location. I wish that we had booked more nights three as it's handy for touring the area
5 out of 5
by Daniel from Stockholm

Fantastic scenery

Posted Jan 15, 2016 on Hotels
It's a lovely scenery. Good security. Lovely staff. Very relaxing atmosphere.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Morris County, NJ

Sugar Bird Wonderful

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Pros: See the foregoing comments.
Cons: See the foregoing comments.
Location: You absolutely must have lunch or dinner at Clos Malverne, which is less than a mile away.
I enjoyed Sugar Bird Manor very much. The property is simply gorgeous; I am still showing photos of the room and grounds to my friends. The views are spectacular and the property seems very secure (it is surrounded by an electric fence). I would prefer, however, if the front desk were staffed 24/7. One unappreciated incident: the cleaning staff left the veranda door to my room wide open, and I had to lock it and the windows. Anyone could have walked right in. I had to leave before breakfast for an early morning flight and, thus, was unable to have breakfast, which I would have liked to have enjoyed. I would definitely return to this lovely bed and breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Jill

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent place
5 out of 5
by Terry from kent

Relaxtion, peaceful and views to die for.

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
Located a short drive out of Stellenbosch, overlooking the a valley. Very peaceful with great and helpful staff. An ideal spot for those relaxing afternoons you need by the pool. The views are fantastic. Located on a working vineyard, secure site. Staff will be able to assist in any of the wine tours you have in mind, honesty bar and free espresso coffee an added bonus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A place of real beauty and elegance

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: It was quiet at night and the beds were very comfortable. Staff very welcoming.
Cons: See above re the lack of a fire in the guest lounge, but failing that a more comfortable chair and preferably two in the bedroom. My wife and I ha
Location: Stellenbosch is full of interesting things to do plus 100 or more wine cellars to visit in the area.
One criticism, what a pity there was no log fire in the guest lounge where one could spend a cold evening otherwise a dream place to stay.
5 out of 5
by Nicole

Holiday

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing location and view!