Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Brianna from Raleigh

Stay somewhere with character!

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
Loved this little b&b. It had great African themed decor and trinkets and beautifully colored and styled rooms. It felt like staying in your hip, collector friend's house. The pool was small but perfect for the small home-like place. The service was wonderful and breakfast was lovely! Drinks are available at anytime for enjoying by the pool ect. My only complaint would be no AC. In mid summer, that can make sleeping quite uncomfortable. They provided a small fan, but it did not really help.
3 out of 5
by Paul from Melbourne

Great little B&B - excellent value for money

Posted Dec 25, 2015 on Hotels
I arrived late (after 10.30pm) and left very early, but the service was impeccable and the room was clean, spacious and comfortable with a great en suite bathroom. The feel of the place is 100% South African colonial, with lots of timber and African touches. Overall, great value for money. I'll be back!
3 out of 5
by Ligia from Cape Town

Recommendation to rent at Sweet Lemon

Posted May 25, 2015 on Hotels
I had a nice stay at this hotel. Service was good. It is a beautiful and quiet place. Rooms are spacious and clean with nice decoration. Affordable price.
3 out of 5
by Jose from Angola

First time there, but most definitel not the last.

Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels
My stay at sweet lemon was very good as I was looking for an affordable place to stay which had a touch of home feeling to it. The only negative remark I have, is with regards to my online payment confirmation that only arrived at Hotel's email more than 24 hours later. This was done through Hotels.com, and the event put me in a difficult spot as the initial contact with the hotel led to their refusal of accommodating me as proof of booking and payment had not arrived. Upon my insistence at the hotel, I was subsequently attended by the manager called Themba who was absolutely brilliant all the way through in attending and confirm that my booking had indeed been made and paid for. Sweet Lemon is a great guest house to stay at if one is looking for absolute quiet, rest, and comfort without having to spend large amounts of money while at same time enjoying a good level of service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but noisy

Posted Feb 26, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was a very nicely done up quaint hotel.Our room was closest to the entrance so everyone who arrived or left had to walk past it (on wooden floors). We could hear people who were in the street. The breakfast was not great at all. The room was lovely, but I would not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2014 by Maggie, Hotel Management
We appreciate your review as well your personal comments, which are valuable to us and we would like to take the opportunity to bring some light into the points you raised. The Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast is a Heritage Protected Building as it is already over 100 years old. We are proud to say, that the original wooden doors and floors are still existing and restored as build in those days. It is true that 2 rooms are closely located to the breakfast area and we do face noise difficulties in winter as we serve breakfast in the quite courtyard at the back of the house during summer. We feel sorry for the inconvenience you experience during your stay, we would have loved to accommodate you and regret you did not approached us. We thank you for your time to place your review and enriched it with our comments.
4 out of 5
by AK from Pretoria

Very comfy, friendly staff

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels
Very friendly staff, waiting up for me although I arrived quite late. Room very comfortable, location good, on the slope above Sea Point main road, walking distance to restaurants and shops.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2014 by Maggie, Hotel Management
Dear AK, We thank you for spending your time to place this review and we appreciate it. Every review is very valuable to us. For scheduled late arrivals we do schedule our staff to be present at the guesthouse to welcome our guest's and make them feel comfortable. Our staff hopes to accommodate you again during your next visit to Cape Town. Kind regards, Maggie and the entire team of Sweetest Guesthouses
5 out of 5
by Fredric from Sweden

Fantastic service

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels
Great little hotel in nice location. Friendly and welcoming staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2014 by Maggie, Hotel Management
Dear Frederic, Our team is grateful to hear that you had a fantastic stay and we thank you for your review. We wish you all the best! Kind regards, Maggie & Stefan
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

prisvärt hotell för alla

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Pros: prisvärt
trevligt ställe. det var.prisvärt Hur mycket tid tror ni att man vill lägga ner på att skriva om ett hotell där man bodde 1 natt?
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2014
We thank the anonymous guest to place is review. Kind regards, Maggie & Stefan
5 out of 5
by Joachim

Individuelle Übernachtung in Seapoint

Posted Mar 6, 2013 on Hotels
sehr angenehm, schöne Atmosphäre, gute Lage in Seapoint, nette Gäste, einziger Nachteil.... die Zimmer sind sehr hellhörig
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2014 by Maggie, Hotel Management
Wir danken Joachim für die aufgebrachte Zeit diese Bewertung auf Expedia zu platzieren. Da unser Haus bereits über stolze 100 Jahre "jung" ist unterlegen wir dem Denkmalschutz. Die originalen Holzböden & Türen konnten wir während der Umbauphase erfolgreich restaurieren, daher dringen einige Laute durch. Doch das unterstreicht auch den Charme des Hauses. Wir entschuldigen uns für die Unannehmlichkeiten die dadurch entstanden sind und hoffen sie beim nächsten Besuch in Kapstadt wieder Begrüßen zu dürfen. Mit freundlichem Gruss, das Team der Sweetest Guesthouses
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

this hotel has sound proofing issues

Posted Sep 24, 2012
Pros: decor
Cons: sound prrofing and customer focus
Location: it was ok
rooms need soundproofing so if you want to sleep in beyond 7am dont choose this hotel.