Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful!

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel. A great experience overall. The staff, especially, were outstanding!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Place

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Great location and the staff was very helpful. Spa and food was fantastic. Love the view from our room of both the waterfront and the mountain. Perfect way to spend our anniversary weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Everything, including excellent location.
Cons: Nothing I can think of. As I noted above, my negative experience with a dishonest taxi driver has taught me the value of UBER taxi service.
Location: Table Mountain Robbens Island Harbor tour
I stayed at the Taj Hotel during a conference. The rooms were excellent, and the city/mountain views from the 14th floor were simply breath-taking. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cape Town. The breakfast buffer and lunch were very good too. There is only thing I would be careful about is taking a taxi from the hotel. My one bad experience has taught me that using UBER is absolutely a must for travel for a tourist in Cape Town who needs individualized transportation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aberdeen

excellent central location

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: central location and efficiency of staff
Cons: check in a bit slow
Location: perfect location for all main attractions in cape town
the hotel was clean, modern and great views of table mountain staff excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

시내 중심에 있으나 조용한 호텔

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: 청결함과 조용함
Location: 테이블 마운틴, 부어캡 등 관광지와 매우 근접해 있어서 이동이 편리했음
클래식하면서도 모던한 느낌이 잘 조합된 분위기. 아침 뷔페에 초밥이 항상 함께 있어서, 느끼한 식사를 싫어하는 한국 사람들도 불편함 없이 아침을 즐길 수 있었음.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saudi Arabia

Not Safe !

Posted Dec 25, 2015
I booked this hotel as it is one of the VIP hotels of Expedia where I usually get a special treatment as a gold member. When I arrived I was surprised that they are not aware of this agreement with Expedia. The receptionist told me this is the first time he heard of gold members thing! .. The worst thing happened when I packed my stuff for checking out, I noticed there was something missing! My Louis Vuitton sunglasses (700$) was stolen from my bag which never left the room! I was furious as I never experienced any theft when I stayed in such 5 stars hotels! I went to the manager of the hotel and he called his security manager who seemed used to these kind of theft. I saw him taking information from two different groups who seemed having the same problem. I'm really upset about what happened and I really don't recommend this hotel to anyone. It is not safe to stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2016 by Michael Pownall, Hotel Management
Dear Yousef Thank you for your feedback. We are aware of your unfortunate incident, which is currently being investigated. Our Security Manager, will be in contact with you shortly, with the outcome. Kind regards Michael Pownall General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A remarquable stay in Capetown

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Excellent location and outstanding hotel. The food was top class. The staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aylsham

A great hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: Staff attitude, breakfast, location, room service, decor, understated elegance - just about everything.
Cons: Slightly earlier breakfast start item but I'm really being very picky here.
Location: Very cosmopolitan mix around the area of the old town. Some good coffee shops. Showed off the better side of South Africa and what it could become.
I have been lucky enough to stay in quite a few very good hotels in Europe and North America as a result of copious amounts of business. The Cape Taj would certainly rank among the top 5 worldwide I have stayed in and quite frankly I would not even consider staying in another hotel if I go to Cape Town again. One of the strong features of the Taj group is the quality of their staff (I have used the Taj Lusaka on numerous occasions and here too the staff stand out). I liked the location which some may not - it was in the old town and so I thought it rather more real (and also perfectly safe) than the V&A Waterfront hotels which can be a bit blingy. An almost perfect hotel experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel, close to waterfront

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Was upgraded without asking for an upgrade, great big balcony with table and chairs and lounger , living area separate from bedroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago/anguilla

Most exceptional ever!

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Had a 2 bedroom suite for 5 daze!!! Was picked up at the airport in a Jaguar!! Most friendly, knowledgeable, anticipatory service ever! Staff goes above and Beyond!! Range Rover rides to city locales, location location location!! All the culture n history literally at the doorstep, Company Gardens, District Six museum, Slave Lodge, Art Museum, shopping, the BoKaap, and oh so cool Bree Street!! Hop on hop off bus on Long Street.... The V and A crowded and commercial, camps Bay for a beach side visit, but The Taj for the great pulse of Cape Town now!