Ratings based on 389 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guernsey

Really good hotel, excellent position

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Room size, position
Cons: Later shuttles to the V&A Waterfront
Location: Company Garden and all the museums. Cycle Tour!
Second stay at the Taj. Went out for the Cape Argus 2017, the bike race that never happened. The hotel is very close to the start of the race and so is superbly positioned. The staff are fantastic and couldn't have been more friendly. The rooms, even the most basic are huge and well appointed. The restaurants are good. Breakfast is excellent, one of the best we have had. The Bombay Brasserie restaurant is very good though pricy by Cape Town standards, and a lot of money for a curry! Will be back next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and modern Taj in Capetown

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Very well located in from St. George's cathedral, Parliament & Company Gardens. Close to shopping area of Greenmarket Sq.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Service

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Hotel staffs are all very helpful and friendly. Very comfortable room with good space and clean environment.
I stayed three nights. Last night, my room is upgraded to the top floor. Service was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel review

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff and comfortable bedding!! Lovely rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is very bad.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
I woke up at night due to a gunshot sound! I felt unsafe to walk around the hotel after 9 pm. Internet is very slow for those who need to upload and download files.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Great place to stay! Definitely I will recommend it
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

SUPERIOR HOTEL !

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
EXCELLENT SERVICE !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Great hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Location: Close to the African Café where you can try a range of dishes from the continent, many of them vegetarian and gluten free.
We stayed in a club level room. Large beautiful room, great big bathroom. Room included breakfast, either in the club room or the buffet; high tea every afternoon (amazing desserts, savory snacks, and a choice from 20 and teas or coffee); plus drinks and snacks at happy hour. The location is right in the middle of Cape Town, close to the outdoor market. They have a free shuttle to the base of the lift to the top of Table Mountain and to the pier, but also not that far to walk. Hop on hop off bus stop right around the corner. Staff is excellent, very friendly. Wonderful place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide Australia

Brilliant location, friendly staff.

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
We loved our stay at the Taj Cape Town. Brilliant location with easy access to the Waterfront, restuarants and Table Mountain. The hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle ride to the Waterfront and Table Mountain cable car. Concierge had a can do attitude and the porters were prompt and friendly. Rooms were spacious and clean and the beds and linens very comfortable. I would absolutely stay here again.