Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Great hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Location: Close to the African Café where you can try a range of dishes from the continent, many of them vegetarian and gluten free.
We stayed in a club level room. Large beautiful room, great big bathroom. Room included breakfast, either in the club room or the buffet; high tea every afternoon (amazing desserts, savory snacks, and a choice from 20 and teas or coffee); plus drinks and snacks at happy hour. The location is right in the middle of Cape Town, close to the outdoor market. They have a free shuttle to the base of the lift to the top of Table Mountain and to the pier, but also not that far to walk. Hop on hop off bus stop right around the corner. Staff is excellent, very friendly. Wonderful place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Beautiful hotel, centrally located.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Taj was great. Amazing location and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Loved the location. The staff was more than helpful. The hotel room was very nice. No problems with our stay. I would stay there again without hesitation. I loved having a cup of tea every afternoon in the lobby!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent hotel close to local attractions

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Excellent would love to visit again,great views and next door to company garden. Local shopping venues, food and friendly staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.S.

Best hotel in the St George area

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Orbitz
Great room, wonderful service. Breakfast was everything you needed to start the day!
5 out of 5
by sanjeev kumar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best service Cape Town

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
The service we received was excellent. Probably the best I have received in a very long time. My wife and I will not hesitate to stay there again on our next trip.
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi

First night in Cape Town

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: It is in a quiet area, has good services and even a fast wifi.
Cons: When we asked about a walking tour the concierge handed us a map but did not take any time to explain anything.
Location: We got lost trying to walk around and werent able to see much.We were also pestered by panhandlers.
We started our trip to South Africa in Cape Town and stayed at the Taj. It is a great hotel in a relatively safe area. Parking is only by valet since it is in town. When we asked the concierge for a place to have dinner they gave us excellent recommendations that were just a taxi ride away. We chose one in amps bay which was only a 25 minute cab ride. The breakfast at the hotel is excellent and quite upscale, as you would expect from a 5 star rated hotel.. The room was comfortable and even had a glass wall between the bathroom and the bed area. All in all it was an excellent start to our adventures of shark diving and horseback safari's.
5 out of 5
by Rosemary from Victoria, BC, Canada

It doesn't get any better than this!

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
We felt we were treated like VIPs. We will definitely stay here again when we next visit Cape Town.