Ratings based on 393 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Perfectly located luxury hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Everything, but most especially the friendly, helpful staff
Cons: Only the shuttle service that is contracted out to another company and was not reliable
Location: Perfect location. A short walk to the Greenmarket and other historic sites, easy access by car to Table Mountain and Robben Island.
We were so impressed by this hotel with its ideal location in the City Bowl near the Greenmarket and Company's Gardens with views of Table Mountain, its exceptionally helpful and courteous staff, very well-appointed rooms and lovely indoor pool and workout area. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a great Cape Town experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guernsey

Really good hotel, excellent position

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Room size, position
Cons: Later shuttles to the V&A Waterfront
Location: Company Garden and all the museums. Cycle Tour!
Second stay at the Taj. Went out for the Cape Argus 2017, the bike race that never happened. The hotel is very close to the start of the race and so is superbly positioned. The staff are fantastic and couldn't have been more friendly. The rooms, even the most basic are huge and well appointed. The restaurants are good. Breakfast is excellent, one of the best we have had. The Bombay Brasserie restaurant is very good though pricy by Cape Town standards, and a lot of money for a curry! Will be back next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and modern Taj in Capetown

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Very well located in from St. George's cathedral, Parliament & Company Gardens. Close to shopping area of Greenmarket Sq.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Service

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Hotel staffs are all very helpful and friendly. Very comfortable room with good space and clean environment.
I stayed three nights. Last night, my room is upgraded to the top floor. Service was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel review

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff and comfortable bedding!! Lovely rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is very bad.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
I woke up at night due to a gunshot sound! I felt unsafe to walk around the hotel after 9 pm. Internet is very slow for those who need to upload and download files.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Great place to stay! Definitely I will recommend it
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

SUPERIOR HOTEL !

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
EXCELLENT SERVICE !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Great hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Location: Close to the African Café where you can try a range of dishes from the continent, many of them vegetarian and gluten free.
We stayed in a club level room. Large beautiful room, great big bathroom. Room included breakfast, either in the club room or the buffet; high tea every afternoon (amazing desserts, savory snacks, and a choice from 20 and teas or coffee); plus drinks and snacks at happy hour. The location is right in the middle of Cape Town, close to the outdoor market. They have a free shuttle to the base of the lift to the top of Table Mountain and to the pier, but also not that far to walk. Hop on hop off bus stop right around the corner. Staff is excellent, very friendly. Wonderful place to stay.