Ratings based on 397 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Perfectly located luxury hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Everything, but most especially the friendly, helpful staff
Cons: Only the shuttle service that is contracted out to another company and was not reliable
Location: Perfect location. A short walk to the Greenmarket and other historic sites, easy access by car to Table Mountain and Robben Island.
We were so impressed by this hotel with its ideal location in the City Bowl near the Greenmarket and Company's Gardens with views of Table Mountain, its exceptionally helpful and courteous staff, very well-appointed rooms and lovely indoor pool and workout area. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a great Cape Town experience.
4 out of 5
by NR

Indian Hospitality at your doorstep!

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Taj is comfort at your best and Taj Cape Town was no different! From the manager to the porter all are friendly and ever so ready to go the extra mile! The view of the mountain range and the city is the cherry on the top! You want luxury, you know where to go!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guernsey

Really good hotel, excellent position

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Room size, position
Cons: Later shuttles to the V&A Waterfront
Location: Company Garden and all the museums. Cycle Tour!
Second stay at the Taj. Went out for the Cape Argus 2017, the bike race that never happened. The hotel is very close to the start of the race and so is superbly positioned. The staff are fantastic and couldn't have been more friendly. The rooms, even the most basic are huge and well appointed. The restaurants are good. Breakfast is excellent, one of the best we have had. The Bombay Brasserie restaurant is very good though pricy by Cape Town standards, and a lot of money for a curry! Will be back next year!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
We had an amazing stay at the Taj Cape Town. The hotel is very beautiful and our room (an upgrade) was amazing. With a view of Table Mountain it was perfect. The area was close to everything, magnificent gardens, the Cathedral and Slave Museum(a must) An African Street market on your doorstep.There were a variety of restaurants near by the hotel. A short walk takes you to Long St and the Big Bus, further afield the Malay quarter with colourful houses and if you are walkers, it is easy to get to the Waterfront on foot. Done in the daytime, it is safe and easy but a few km maybe more. The other option is the Big Bus but just be warned that you will be shuffled up the mountain each day as it only goes one way. We felt safe in the area but were mindful that you did not walk at night in the park or even in the area too far from the hotel though dinner close by was okay on one evening. So back to the hotel; beautiful breakfast, fabulous staff and over all a great hotel. We travel a lot and live in Dubai and know a good hotel when we see one. We were very impressed. Thank you to all the staff who made our trip so enjoyable Ros and Noel (Dubai)
5 out of 5
by Max R.

Quality and hospitality in a central location

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
Great arrangement with complementary offers (free transfer to Mountain Table and Waterfront, free organized city-walking). The hotel is a good alternative to the busy Waterfront location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and modern Taj in Capetown

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Very well located in from St. George's cathedral, Parliament & Company Gardens. Close to shopping area of Greenmarket Sq.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Service

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Hotel staffs are all very helpful and friendly. Very comfortable room with good space and clean environment.
I stayed three nights. Last night, my room is upgraded to the top floor. Service was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel review

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff and comfortable bedding!! Lovely rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is very bad.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
I woke up at night due to a gunshot sound! I felt unsafe to walk around the hotel after 9 pm. Internet is very slow for those who need to upload and download files.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels