Ratings based on 402 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Excellent staff and service

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Great location and hotel is outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester England

Beautiful traditional Hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Very grand, traditional hotel with the most attentive and friendly staff. Room on the second floor was part of the Taj Club with a dedicated team of staff who really get to know you. Lovely breakfast served personally in the private Taj Club area. Valet parking made things very easy. Fantastic Indian restaurant within the hotel and great cocktail and tapas bar next door which is part of the hotel. Would recommend this hotel which is in the city and a 19 minute drive from the waterfront area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in CBD, convenient, easy shuttle/ca

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
We spent 6 days/5 nights at the Taj at the end of 2 weeks traveling through Southern Africa. We were able to take in many of the variety of activities Cape Town has on offer due to the great location and convenience of the Taj.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 3, 2017
The hotel was great, facilities, hospitality, their walking tour all was great. The experience could have been better if the hotel operated like all other TAJ hotels and didn't ask for a payment each time a service was delivered. Except for that, the stay was excellent and would surely recommend it as a hotel of choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Perfectly located luxury hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Everything, but most especially the friendly, helpful staff
Cons: Only the shuttle service that is contracted out to another company and was not reliable
Location: Perfect location. A short walk to the Greenmarket and other historic sites, easy access by car to Table Mountain and Robben Island.
We were so impressed by this hotel with its ideal location in the City Bowl near the Greenmarket and Company's Gardens with views of Table Mountain, its exceptionally helpful and courteous staff, very well-appointed rooms and lovely indoor pool and workout area. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a great Cape Town experience.
4 out of 5
by Nigel

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Good Hotel but centre of Cape Town is not as nice as it used to be. Lets of beggars etc.
5 out of 5
by Thulsie

Amazing

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing. Reception was fantastic, the spa is a must .... everything was fantastic
4 out of 5
by NR

Indian Hospitality at your doorstep!

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Taj is comfort at your best and Taj Cape Town was no different! From the manager to the porter all are friendly and ever so ready to go the extra mile! The view of the mountain range and the city is the cherry on the top! You want luxury, you know where to go!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guernsey

Really good hotel, excellent position

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Room size, position
Cons: Later shuttles to the V&A Waterfront
Location: Company Garden and all the museums. Cycle Tour!
Second stay at the Taj. Went out for the Cape Argus 2017, the bike race that never happened. The hotel is very close to the start of the race and so is superbly positioned. The staff are fantastic and couldn't have been more friendly. The rooms, even the most basic are huge and well appointed. The restaurants are good. Breakfast is excellent, one of the best we have had. The Bombay Brasserie restaurant is very good though pricy by Cape Town standards, and a lot of money for a curry! Will be back next year!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
We had an amazing stay at the Taj Cape Town. The hotel is very beautiful and our room (an upgrade) was amazing. With a view of Table Mountain it was perfect. The area was close to everything, magnificent gardens, the Cathedral and Slave Museum(a must) An African Street market on your doorstep.There were a variety of restaurants near by the hotel. A short walk takes you to Long St and the Big Bus, further afield the Malay quarter with colourful houses and if you are walkers, it is easy to get to the Waterfront on foot. Done in the daytime, it is safe and easy but a few km maybe more. The other option is the Big Bus but just be warned that you will be shuffled up the mountain each day as it only goes one way. We felt safe in the area but were mindful that you did not walk at night in the park or even in the area too far from the hotel though dinner close by was okay on one evening. So back to the hotel; beautiful breakfast, fabulous staff and over all a great hotel. We travel a lot and live in Dubai and know a good hotel when we see one. We were very impressed. Thank you to all the staff who made our trip so enjoyable Ros and Noel (Dubai)