Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from r

Great hotel across road from beach

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Great hotel in an excellent location. Food and service both good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dina from London UK

I love the Bay Hotel...

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel staff in particular Kirstie and Sean went out of their way to ensure my stay was enjoyable. I can't wait to come back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

long past its best but still thinks it's a 5 star!

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was comfortable and the location right by the beach and hop-on hop-off stop was perfect. However for the price paid, I don't think the hotel was good value and if returning to Camps Bay I would try somewhere else. Pros: location, comfortable room, friendly staff, free wifi, decent breakfast with lovely view, L'Occitane toiletries Cons: price, outdated hotel with outdated business centre (no working printer!), mediocre dining options, "garden view" is onto a corrugated iron roof.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Beautiful views and close to the beach!

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: Location and the view.
Cons: The customer service, housekeeping, and restaurant service was not what I expected for this type of hotel.
Location: Red Bus - Hop on, Hop off - stop is right across the street. Great way to see the whole area and get great info.
We stayed in a room with a balcony, with view of the ocean and overlooking the pool area. The room was comfortable with everything you would need, but what made it spectacular was the view. Hotel is located on the promenade and is within steps of the beach. We ordered room service, food was good and service was nice. We also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, although the service during our meals was spotty, some was great, some never refilled our coffee. Our minibar was never restocked. We tried to book a spa treatment, but they said there were no appointments available, even though the hotel seemed pretty empty. We also tried to extend our last day, because we had a late flight out, so we thought we could stay in the comfort of our room until our flight. However, again we were told that there were no rooms available, that they were booked. Again, hardly saw 10 other guests the whole time we were there. They did offer us a traveler's room, but that is not what we had in mind! Also be sure to check your bill before you leave, there were charges on ours that did not belong. Fortunately, they promptly removed them, with no questions. I would only stay here again if we had the room with the view!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patrick from Doha

Fantastic hotel with wonderful staff.

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was exceptional, from the moment we arrived until checkout the entire hotel staff was attentive, friendly and very helpful. The room was outstanding, the condition of the property impeccable, and the location amazing. The only possible negative is the limited internet usage, but you can buy more time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: The location; near the beach and excellent restaurants such as Codfather, Blues, The Raj, Mezipoli
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Beach, restaurants, short drive to Table Mountain, Lions Head and Signal Hill
The hotel was across the street from the beach and the city bus tour station. The hotel offered many tour packages. For the most part, the staff was friendly, but a few of them had a bit of an attitude. For example, I probably took too long to decide on a tour package and the guest relations manager started to visibly lose steam (not professional), one of the staff members also misinformed me about the time the cable way to table mountain closed, which resulted in it being closed when my family arrived; the hotel's driver that took us there said he would have the charge for the car cancelled but upon checkout the same woman who misinformed me about the time had an attitude to remove the charge. She also charged us for laundry services even though the information books left in all the rooms advertised free pressing for two articles of clothing per person on the day of arrival. She asked me three times "who told me it was free." Perhaps the staff should read the information books left for guests. Aside from a few unpleasant experiences, most of the staff was friendly and would chat with us whenever we came back to the hotel for the day. All of the servers in the dining room were extremely pleasant and the food was great. The rooms seemed comfortable but our tea was not replenished once in a week, the bed sheets had stains a few times, a hairball was in my towel more than once, and the bathroom floor was stained. Overall, the hotel was OK but I would stay elsewhere next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Center of the beachfront. Great choice.

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
Great spot in Camps Bay with excellent service and a good breakfast. My sole criticism is the limited data usage for wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sony S from Delhi- India

Thumbs Up

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
Location was great. Lady who helped us check in was very gracious and very humble. Only drawback was Breakfast was pretty ordinary and monotonous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by WAYNE from Mtubatuba

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
The Bay Hotel is on a pristine position on Camps Bay. Loved all the art works on display in the hotel. Friendly and efficient staff. Took a minute walk along the beach front to a restaurant for dinner - many to choose from. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mubina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels