Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando, FL

Great location - upscale hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Only 2-3 clothing stores in the area. Good restaurants/bars. Beautiful sunset each day.
The location was great...right across from the beach. There is a fairly busy street that you need to cross in order to get to the hotel. The room was nice although the sleeping and bathroom areas are small. Our room had a nice seating area with a pull out sofa. We had a private patio with a great view of the sunset each evening. The cleaning crew who cleaned our room each day was lacking. Our instant coffee was not refilled regularly. On several occasions we had to call the front desk to request more coffee, sugar, creamer. We had to request a full set of towels on occasion because we would be left with only 2 bath towels and 2 floor towels. Also, there wasn't unlimited wifi access. Each 24 hour period only 250 megabytes. Then you have to buy more data. Watch the fees charged to the room. We had a few questionable charges on our last bill - a few of which were additional data charges for the wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Need to improve sheets

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Included breakfast, great pools and location, good service and great room accommodations. Only issue was that the sheets were like sandpaper!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Away from the crowds of cathe perfect beach settin

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Thank you camps bay and the bay hotel where perfect for my family and I to stay in whilst visiting Cape Town , would definitely return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Awesome find.

Posted May 23, 2016
Cons: One night they tested their fail over to their backup generator. They may not have realized this caused the A/C to beep when they switched off and on.
Location: Long list. We did several tours. Table Mountain, shark diving, Robben Island, District 6 and the townships tour. Best restaurant was the Hussard,
My son and I took an impromptu adventure to Dubai and South Africa. We ended up in Cape Town for several days at the end of the trip. We booked into The Bay Hotel because we were looking for a nice spot to relax at the end of a busy schedule. When the driver picked us up at the airport he mentioned that we had picked a very nice spot! That was reassuring. When we crossed over the ridgeline from Cape Town into Camp Bay the view was amazing! Ocean, beach, mountains. The hotel checkin was fast and friendly. The rook was perfect for the two of us with a beautiful balcony overlooking the pool and the beach. The service was always friendly and quick. We ate in one of the hotel restaurants and the food was fresh and tasty. We traveled in mid-May which is their Fall, but the weather was generally lovely 9not too hot, not too cool, and only a few rainy days). Not too many tourists so getting into restaurants (Hussard - wow!), and sites (Robben Island, Table Mountain) was really easy. Great trip. I'll go back in a minute and would make sure I stayed there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Awesome hotel close to the beach and restaurants.

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: None.
Location: Convenient.
Awesome hotel. Clean and courteous staff. Plenty restaurants and transportation. I will definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas, USA

Awesome hotel in an excellent location

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: Location, the hotel bar is fantastic with an excellent bartender, transportation service (nice cars), the outstanding staff, amazing views, Wi-Fi
Cons: The rooms need a little updating, especially the bathrooms (they felt dirty and moldy)
Location: The location is the best part, absolutely perfect location - Right on Camps Bay. You can walk to a lot of bars, restaurants, and shops.
My husband and I had an outstanding time at the Bay Hotel. The staff truly made our time in Cape Town a perfect experience. Alida, Faruz, Ainsley, and especially, Sedick are absolutely fantastic! They handled all of our excursions (safari, shark diving, wine tours, Table Mountain, and other tours around town) perfectly, they made excellent dinner recommendations and reservations for us, handled all of our transportation, and provided us with the most friendly hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location !

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Wonderful location , helpful staff . Very professional . Would come back in a heartbeat !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice Hotel with excellent staff.

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Location: Location right on the beach and only 15 minutes in a taxi to the Waterfront.
Went for a short break with my husband just before Christmas. Hotel is in a great location just opposite the beach, with great views. But what made it special was the staff, who are always happy to see you and help you. Would definitely return again to Cape Town and be staying at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great Hotel, Great Location

Posted Nov 21, 2015
This was our second trip to Cape Town and we chose to stay in the Camps Bay area because of its small beach town feel, but still close to other good areas such as the V&A Water Front and City Centre (10 min cab rides). The Bay Hotel has perfect views of the Camp's Bay and the sunsets, with Table Mountain in it's backdrop. Many great restaurants to try within walking distance and if you want to venture out of the area there is a Hop on Hop Off site seeing bus that has a stop in front of the hotel. The hotel has a very friendly and helpful staff and a great restaurant of its own. The breakfast that is included was also very good, buffet or menu selection, and also includes a great view of the beach. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Given the location, ease of access to other areas, the views, and the great beach directly in front of the hotel, it would be hard to find anyhing much better or more relaxing than this area and the Bay Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, helpful staff

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Pros: Location, views, proximity to restaurants, the beach, city tour bus stop etc,
Checked in after extremely long flight from the US to a wonderful room and nice surroundings. Wonderful breakfast buffet, helpful staff will recommend tours etc.