Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel ruined by poor service

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: The retro styling
Cons: The service from the breakfast staff and the bar tenders/waiters.
Location: Paragliding The V&A waterfront Shark Cage Diving (Great White) Fantastic pubs Hussar Grill (Wow)
I decided to surprise the better half with a week away at the Bay Hotel. The hotel is lovely, it has a really cool retro styling and the location really couldn't be better. Very chic. Thank goodness for online reviews, this saved me from having to put up with a poor breakfast that charges separately for Cappuccino. Instead we went to the Kuai or Vida e' Cafe for a little something. I will say that on the day we checked out we had a breakfast at the hotel and my suspicions were correct, surly waiters that you have to take with a pinch of salt. Very poor service. The rooms are lovely, the shower was powerful and the fittings are in need of an update. During our stay there was some maintenance being conducted and one morning we awoke to the lovely sound of drilling at 6 in the morning. That being said it wasn't every day and the room really was comfortable. I would say this is not a 5 star hotel, there is much left to be desired, although I enjoyed my stay despite these misfortunes. The best part of the hotel is the building and location and the history of the place itself. Stay there but don't expect too much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, very good hotel, but very expensive

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Staff & location
Cons: Why do they charge for wifi when you are paying so much to stay there
Location: Great big beach & lots of good restaurants
Too windy and not much to do without a car during the day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Tired 4 star hotel with glorious location

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Middle of the range four star hotel which charges 5 star pricing. Facilities are tired and staff complacent. Silly irritating stuff - charge R50 for wifi, have tip tins for breakfast staff and not a piece of paper or pencil in the room. Breakfast spoilt by the fact that eggs either done wrongly or not fresh and baked beans cold!! The caamils bar upstairs was excellent the bartender is where these ice should be!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
Dated hotel trading on its position on the beachfront. Lacklustre service, particularly around the pool. You have to pay for wifi and very limited parking. We were very disappointed. There is so much fantastic accommodation available in Cape Town we would definitely not return to the bay hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando, FL

Great location - upscale hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Only 2-3 clothing stores in the area. Good restaurants/bars. Beautiful sunset each day.
The location was great...right across from the beach. There is a fairly busy street that you need to cross in order to get to the hotel. The room was nice although the sleeping and bathroom areas are small. Our room had a nice seating area with a pull out sofa. We had a private patio with a great view of the sunset each evening. The cleaning crew who cleaned our room each day was lacking. Our instant coffee was not refilled regularly. On several occasions we had to call the front desk to request more coffee, sugar, creamer. We had to request a full set of towels on occasion because we would be left with only 2 bath towels and 2 floor towels. Also, there wasn't unlimited wifi access. Each 24 hour period only 250 megabytes. Then you have to buy more data. Watch the fees charged to the room. We had a few questionable charges on our last bill - a few of which were additional data charges for the wifi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location!!!

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
Nice place but they do like to charge for the extras! Some service was excellent others not so much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Need to improve sheets

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Included breakfast, great pools and location, good service and great room accommodations. Only issue was that the sheets were like sandpaper!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vàalie

The Bay of Riaan

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
My first time I was 9,was great to be back,Mr.Troskie and his partners kept world class standards for 36yeärs,that's impress if should get another star,really
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Camps Bay Location

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice neighborhood right on the beach. Very convenient to Tablerock Mountain.