Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Awesome find.

Posted May 23, 2016
Cons: One night they tested their fail over to their backup generator. They may not have realized this caused the A/C to beep when they switched off and on.
Location: Long list. We did several tours. Table Mountain, shark diving, Robben Island, District 6 and the townships tour. Best restaurant was the Hussard,
My son and I took an impromptu adventure to Dubai and South Africa. We ended up in Cape Town for several days at the end of the trip. We booked into The Bay Hotel because we were looking for a nice spot to relax at the end of a busy schedule. When the driver picked us up at the airport he mentioned that we had picked a very nice spot! That was reassuring. When we crossed over the ridgeline from Cape Town into Camp Bay the view was amazing! Ocean, beach, mountains. The hotel checkin was fast and friendly. The rook was perfect for the two of us with a beautiful balcony overlooking the pool and the beach. The service was always friendly and quick. We ate in one of the hotel restaurants and the food was fresh and tasty. We traveled in mid-May which is their Fall, but the weather was generally lovely 9not too hot, not too cool, and only a few rainy days). Not too many tourists so getting into restaurants (Hussard - wow!), and sites (Robben Island, Table Mountain) was really easy. Great trip. I'll go back in a minute and would make sure I stayed there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Awesome hotel close to the beach and restaurants.

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: None.
Location: Convenient.
Awesome hotel. Clean and courteous staff. Plenty restaurants and transportation. I will definitely come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas, USA

Awesome hotel in an excellent location

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: Location, the hotel bar is fantastic with an excellent bartender, transportation service (nice cars), the outstanding staff, amazing views, Wi-Fi
Cons: The rooms need a little updating, especially the bathrooms (they felt dirty and moldy)
Location: The location is the best part, absolutely perfect location - Right on Camps Bay. You can walk to a lot of bars, restaurants, and shops.
My husband and I had an outstanding time at the Bay Hotel. The staff truly made our time in Cape Town a perfect experience. Alida, Faruz, Ainsley, and especially, Sedick are absolutely fantastic! They handled all of our excursions (safari, shark diving, wine tours, Table Mountain, and other tours around town) perfectly, they made excellent dinner recommendations and reservations for us, handled all of our transportation, and provided us with the most friendly hospitality.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location !

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Wonderful location , helpful staff . Very professional . Would come back in a heartbeat !
5 out of 5
by sarah from Devon

Amazing place!!

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
Love love love this hotel! Stayed here for our first three nights before heading to Paarl as we just love the atmosphere and beauty of camps bay! We had a cabanna room and so could walk out right onto the pools! Great pool service, great rooms, great breakfasts and great location! Cant wait to come back nexy year!
5 out of 5
by Matthew from Florida, USA

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely Awesome! Great service, people, view, right in the middle of Camps Bay! Definitely will stay here again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel could be great. Location is spot on in Camp's Bay but staff is poor and service shoddy.
3 out of 5
by JB from Johannesburg

Another of the greats in decline

Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels
I've been going to the Bay Hotel for over 10 years and it is terrible to see the constant decline. The trainees at reception are left there on their own with little or no experience. Check in took over an hour as they first checked me into a room that was occupied. The room itself was ok but has not been upgraded since the 90's. The towels in the room were threadbare but the view was great. Breakfast staff were unhelpful and very hard to call a waiter. The pool areas are amazing with the views across Camps Bay. To me it is a 3.5 star hotel in a great location. They need more experienced staff, room upgrades and a bit more friendliness. I was giving my feedback at reception when the general manager for the group came in. He said he would be in touch for feedback but did not bother to call. I love the Bay but hate to see it in decline.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Nice Hotel with excellent staff.

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Location: Location right on the beach and only 15 minutes in a taxi to the Waterfront.
Went for a short break with my husband just before Christmas. Hotel is in a great location just opposite the beach, with great views. But what made it special was the staff, who are always happy to see you and help you. Would definitely return again to Cape Town and be staying at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great Hotel, Great Location

Posted Nov 21, 2015
This was our second trip to Cape Town and we chose to stay in the Camps Bay area because of its small beach town feel, but still close to other good areas such as the V&A Water Front and City Centre (10 min cab rides). The Bay Hotel has perfect views of the Camp's Bay and the sunsets, with Table Mountain in it's backdrop. Many great restaurants to try within walking distance and if you want to venture out of the area there is a Hop on Hop Off site seeing bus that has a stop in front of the hotel. The hotel has a very friendly and helpful staff and a great restaurant of its own. The breakfast that is included was also very good, buffet or menu selection, and also includes a great view of the beach. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Given the location, ease of access to other areas, the views, and the great beach directly in front of the hotel, it would be hard to find anyhing much better or more relaxing than this area and the Bay Hotel.