Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by james from Hampshire UK

Lovely relaxing stay

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
Very good staff, good food, Sunday lunch was Ok but not as good as expected. Service a little slow on Sunday but staff very good otherwise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Karl from Kennett square

History and horticulture

Posted Dec 19, 2015 on Hotels
An exceptional accommodation with fantastic food and ambiance.
5 out of 5
by mr Stephen from Buckinghamshire, England

An exceptional luxury hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2015 on Hotels
Outstanding luxury hotel with high standards of service, comfort and food. Greenhouse restaurant was exceptional and one of the best in Cape Town area. Conservatory restaurant was also very good with outdoor tables for breakfast and lunch. Beautifully maintained gardens with heated pools and space for relaxing in shade or sun. Well managed hotel with pleasant, attentive and well trained staff. An experience to be repeated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

An oasis of tranquility

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: The surroundings, the peaceful ambiance, the delightful staff, the gracious rooms and the restaurants and food, two swimming pools
Cons: Nothing
Location: Twenty minutes from downtown Cape Town, 5 minutes from the botanical gardens, 5 minutes from Constantia village and 30 minutes from the Airport .
A lovely hotel set in the most beautiful gardens. So gracious as with all the staff.
5 out of 5
by Graham from Darlington

Luxury stay

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
An excellent stay in a fabulous hotel set in fantastic grounds nothing is to much effort for the staff. we also had a great massage and meal in the Greenhouse restaurant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not quite 5 star

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels
Overall good but not amazing. We stayed in a standard room. The carpets in the wing looked tired and dirty in places. There was quite a lot of noise room to room although room was comfortable and clean. Level of service in the conservatory was variable, sometimes excellent other times a bit indifferent and not 5 star. We were very pleased to be accommodated for dinner in the greenhouse for dinner, despite not having tried to reserve more than a few days in advance of our stay and where the quality and service was top notch however we felt it should be made clear on the website that it is almost impossible to get a table in this restaurant unless you book months in advance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Marguerite

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2012 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Lisa

Magnificent hotel setting and gardens

Posted Sep 26, 2012 on Hotels
We enjoyed our first visit to Cape Town at this lovely hotel, with its spectacular and lush gardens to stroll around. Nearby is the not-to-miss Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens. We enjoyed our two-story suite with a kitchenette and heated floors! Breakfasts (included) at the Conservatory restaurant were pleasantly staffed and provided in a lovely indoor setting to enjoy the gardens outside. Fortunately, we had made reservations well in advance to have dinner at the Greenhouse restaurant on the premises. It's considered the top restaurant in S.A. and did not disappoint. Unfortunately, the hotel's desk staff did not meet our expectations; we had to make multiple calls to get service for minor requests and they were completely unhelpful about their complimentary shuttle services to the waterfront. We were fortunate to have a fabulous driver/guide on contract with the hotel who advocated for us and smoothed over the miscommunications.