Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016
The only thing that was to bad was that the WiFi in my room wasn't free, but it was free in the lobby. Everything else was perfect! Breakfast was delicious, staff was helpful, the room was impeccable and the location was very convenient, safe and beautiful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great experience, excellent service

Posted Apr 5, 2015
The Charles staff are excellent, very helpful and informative. They overbooked the hotel, so they put us up in a two room suite with a hot tub! We will stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location, lovely staff!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Really nice guesthouse, low key, nice staff, safe, very good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
My favourite place to stay in Cape Town. Relaxed, friendly, comfortable, clean & excellent value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great Place

Posted Nov 26, 2014
What a great place, we had a room with a separate lounge a bedroom with a roll top bath in the centre of it, also with a shower room plus a super king size bed, all the staff were very helpful in a great area not far from the V & A waterfront, great breakfast would highly recommend it
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Refund please!

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Was given room number 10 which is at the back of the lodge away from the main building. Room was decorated well with nice items from a budget home decorating store. (Prices still on) bath was damaged and dated. Walls had mould. Water was brown and bathroom made us feel dirty. The staff was asking personal questions and came accross judgemental. They decided to start breaking out walls in the room next door at 19-00 and were making so much noice we thought about leaving but the free wifi is only in the nain building and not where we were put. Had to walk back to the main building to do anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pierre from New York

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very average

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Great location, but sorely in need of some TLC. So, OK, but over-priced for what it was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, CA

Personal, very friendly

Posted May 19, 2010
The good: Extremely friendly and competent staff. The first day the staff learned my name, and then greeted me by name thereafter. My room was very comfortable. The hotel has a great patio terrace area with a new awning and nice views of the city. The De Waterkant neighborhood is picturesque and upscale; it has gentrified over the last 30 years. There are many nice small shops nearby, as well as a large upscale mall two short blocks away with several nice cafes and restaurants. The guest house has a cozy living room with a fireplace, and a few nights there was a real fire going in the fireplace. Overall, much more personal and intimate than the big, fancy hotels. The bad: The first night I arrived at 11pm. Despite having notified the hotel that I would be checking in late, I still needed to have my shuttle driver call someone to the reception so I could check in, a process that took 10+ minutes. The reception closes at 10pm, so any late arrivals will need to be able to phone someone to come to reception. While I felt very safe in the De Waterkant neighborhood, at night I didn't like that I was often approached by people asking for money (this is common in all of Cape Town, not just the area around this hotel). There are multiple security staff on foot in the neighborhood at night. The lock on my room door was of a very old-fashioned type, and did not seem very secure. There is a free in-room safe that I used. My stay: 10 days, in early May, 2010.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, UK

Charming old world style hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2009
Lovely, quirky place in a funky part of Cape Town. It may not be the Sheriton Hotel and doesn't have all the mod cons of a big grand hotel - but it is attractive partly because it represents a complete change from that type of hotel. It has a frendly service, wireless throughout (and rapid reponse on the one day when there was problems with it), secure safe in each room and wonderful food. It felt like staying in someone's home rather than a hotel. I would book in their like a shot if i ever go back. I took taxis everywhere at night as there was talk of security issues nearby - but i don't know how true this is. Felt very safe during the day.