Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Chris from Rustenburg

Not what is seen on internet

Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Hotels
Entrance and reception is shoddy, and seriously needs a upgrade. It is like checking into a railway station 40 years ago. for the tariff you pay it is way overrated and you would expect a 3 to 4 star establishment. I rate this a a 1 to 2 star
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Landshut

Schönes Hotel in hipper Gegend

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: Top Service
Location: Hop on hop off bus trips
Sehr schön und zentral gelegen. Boutique Hotel. Unser Zimmer etwas klein.
3 out of 5
by Grant from Pretoria

Charles Guest House stay for business

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
This Hotel is very well situated to some restaurants and the ICC, if that is what you are after. Parking is a bit difficult to find in the street, but at extra cost you can use private parking up the street. Rooms are clean & basic, but perhaps a little overpriced for what you get, but this is in line with pricing for this area of Cape Town. The only thing that was was not good about my stay, as the closing of the front door at night and no staff around to deal with people ringing the door bell, which was audible from my room late into the night. The next morning I also found myself locked in, and needed to phone someone to come let me out for breakfast, but then found a back door to get out of.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A nice change from standard hotel rooms

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
Had a nice stay at the CGH. Great location and nice to be out of standard hotel rooms. The breakfast content left a lot to be desired even if the service was great. The Internet connection was the pits - in this day and age that doesn't work.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great experience, excellent service

Posted Apr 5, 2015
The Charles staff are excellent, very helpful and informative. They overbooked the hotel, so they put us up in a two room suite with a hot tub! We will stay there again!
5 out of 5
by Mathemba from Durban

Home away from home

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
It was a wonderful experience! It is located closer to all relevant places of interest.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location, lovely staff!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Really nice guesthouse, low key, nice staff, safe, very good value.
4 out of 5
by Eija from Mäntsälä

Aamupalaa jäimme kaipaamaan

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
Kapkupunki visiitti tässä majoituspaikassa oli ehdottomasti kaikinpuolin onnistunuta MUTTA yksi ristiriita oli; meidän tilausvahvistuksessa luki, että varaukseen kuuluu aamupala. Näin ei kuitenkaan ollut. Heidän mukaan olemme tilanneet vain huoneen ilman aamupalaa. Tähän asiaa toivon selvitystä....sammeko korvauksen, kun jouduimme aamupalan järjestelemään toisin
5 out of 5
by Jenny

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
My favourite place to stay in Cape Town. Relaxed, friendly, comfortable, clean & excellent value.