Ratings based on 528 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Good Hotel , great location.....

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Great friendly staff, very helpful......great breakfast!!! The Travel desk really helped me out after my airport transfer didn't turn up - thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Great Location, friendly staff. Felt very safe there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Swansea, Wales

Lovely hotel in great location

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Everything! Even the bedroom light switches that didn't require a degree to operate!
Cons: Would have loved some balcony chairs
Location: Brilliant location less than five minutes to the Waterfront. Lots of info in hotel from knowledgeable staff who are helpful and have great suggestions
Just returned from a fabulous nine day stay at The Commodore in Cape Town, we love this hotel and will shortly be planning to return. This hotel is not the bland corporate mega chain type that we so often see in our cities. This is a hotel with charm and personality. The staff are probably the best we've ever come across, the facilities are tip top, bar and restaurant staff especially greet you like friends. The Commodore is 'old fashioned' in the very best sense, where the customer is king. It's quirky, cute and in a great position near the V&A Waterfront. We had the impression that many guests were returnees, and we can see why. We had an Executive room and couldn't fault it, spotlessly clean, modern and spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Fantastic hotel with wonderful staff.

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: The location was perfect. The staff were amazing and the character of the hotel was sophisticated yet friendly.
Cons: The bar service around the pool area could be improved. It was very rarely that a member of staff visited the pool area to ask for drink orders.
Location: Excellent location, situated within 3-4 minutes walk from all the amenities at the V & A Waterfront. Many rooms have views of Table Mountain.
The Commodore Hotel was in a great location within 3-4 minutes walk from all the amenities at the V & A Waterfront. We booked two rooms and were upgraded to the Executive floor which was fantastic. The rooms were adequate in size, but not big. However, both rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the furnishings were of a high standard. Each room also had fantastic views of Table Mountain and the Waterfront. The thing that stood out at The Commodore was the staff. Each and every member of staff we met went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We were always greeted with a smile and nothing was every too much bother. The staff go out of their way to ensure that the guests are happy and we could not fault them. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Commodore and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cape Town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Affordable hotel in an exclusive area

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
We were in the Commodore for 3 nights on a special package deal which made it a great bargain. It might be a bit expensive if paying regular rack rate. This is not a new hotel and therefore some of the décor is a bit 'tired', especially the dining room which is dark and not very appealing. However we had very nice breakfasts although our one evening meal was below standard. Would recommend eating out one of the many eateries in the Waterfront area. We did a sunset cruise which was fabulous and we enjoyed listening to some of the street entertainers in the area. The location is really great, everything at the Waterfront is within walking distance and getting into the city is easy and inexpensive.
4 out of 5
by John

Great location and atmoshere

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
We should have spent much more time there but we were in transit to board a cruise
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Well located to V and A waterfront. Hotel showing its age a little. Management excellent. Housekeeping a little lazy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Superb location.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Service and proximity to the V & A Waterfront.
Cons: Nothing, perfect!
Location: So much to do and see, wish we had had more time here.
We had excellent service from everyone at this hotel. We had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay in the heart of Cape Town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Festive treat

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
You are in the heart of the waterfront area so access to the rest of cape town is super easy. The staff are polite and helpful and i felt safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia.

Fabulous hotel with friendly & helpful staff.

Posted Dec 29, 2016
We have stayed at The Commodore twice now while visiting from Australia. Staff are very attentive and service is outstanding. We needed a doctor and the hotel had the house doctor in our room within the half hour and on Xmas Eve. Fabulous service. All the facilities are excellent and the gym is very well equiped. The location is handy to the Waterfront so you are right in the middle of fantastic restaurants and the best shops. Most importantly the breakfast buffet is amazing!!!