Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but...

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Location, lobby, breakfast and swim area.
Great location, nice lobby and decent breakfasts included. Room was a bit small but main disappointment was the bathroom. Nice shower but no fan, drawers and one power outlet. Also sink area is not separate from shower so without a fan, it becomes steamy in there while getting ready. Also, general lack of power outlets in room. Elevators were small as well and one was out of service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Good Hotel , great location.....

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Great friendly staff, very helpful......great breakfast!!! The Travel desk really helped me out after my airport transfer didn't turn up - thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Great Location, friendly staff. Felt very safe there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Swansea, Wales

Lovely hotel in great location

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Everything! Even the bedroom light switches that didn't require a degree to operate!
Cons: Would have loved some balcony chairs
Location: Brilliant location less than five minutes to the Waterfront. Lots of info in hotel from knowledgeable staff who are helpful and have great suggestions
Just returned from a fabulous nine day stay at The Commodore in Cape Town, we love this hotel and will shortly be planning to return. This hotel is not the bland corporate mega chain type that we so often see in our cities. This is a hotel with charm and personality. The staff are probably the best we've ever come across, the facilities are tip top, bar and restaurant staff especially greet you like friends. The Commodore is 'old fashioned' in the very best sense, where the customer is king. It's quirky, cute and in a great position near the V&A Waterfront. We had the impression that many guests were returnees, and we can see why. We had an Executive room and couldn't fault it, spotlessly clean, modern and spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Fantastic hotel with wonderful staff.

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: The location was perfect. The staff were amazing and the character of the hotel was sophisticated yet friendly.
Cons: The bar service around the pool area could be improved. It was very rarely that a member of staff visited the pool area to ask for drink orders.
Location: Excellent location, situated within 3-4 minutes walk from all the amenities at the V & A Waterfront. Many rooms have views of Table Mountain.
The Commodore Hotel was in a great location within 3-4 minutes walk from all the amenities at the V & A Waterfront. We booked two rooms and were upgraded to the Executive floor which was fantastic. The rooms were adequate in size, but not big. However, both rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the furnishings were of a high standard. Each room also had fantastic views of Table Mountain and the Waterfront. The thing that stood out at The Commodore was the staff. Each and every member of staff we met went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We were always greeted with a smile and nothing was every too much bother. The staff go out of their way to ensure that the guests are happy and we could not fault them. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Commodore and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cape Town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Well located to V and A waterfront. Hotel showing its age a little. Management excellent. Housekeeping a little lazy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Superb location.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Service and proximity to the V & A Waterfront.
Cons: Nothing, perfect!
Location: So much to do and see, wish we had had more time here.
We had excellent service from everyone at this hotel. We had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay in the heart of Cape Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia.

Fabulous hotel with friendly & helpful staff.

Posted Dec 29, 2016
We have stayed at The Commodore twice now while visiting from Australia. Staff are very attentive and service is outstanding. We needed a doctor and the hotel had the house doctor in our room within the half hour and on Xmas Eve. Fabulous service. All the facilities are excellent and the gym is very well equiped. The location is handy to the Waterfront so you are right in the middle of fantastic restaurants and the best shops. Most importantly the breakfast buffet is amazing!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Shiteen,Marilyn and Elizabeth are just wonderful.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Staff are their best asset Staff all too willing to help Rooms are serviced twice daily Rooms are comfortable, clean and well equipped Best performing hotel in the Waterfront for the money I've holidayed at the waterfront every year for the last five Decembers and this is the best hotel for the money
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Angola

Terrible Service.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: It´s close to waterfront.
Cons: The staff should be trained to treat all guests equally with respect, cordiality and friendliness. The carpet should be removed because of allergies.
Location: Close to Waterfront.
The reason I´m mentioning ethnicity at all is because I think their treatment of me was conditioned by their bias toward darker colored people.