Ratings based on 469 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, fantatic location!

Posted Aug 16, 2016
The Commodore is perfectly located at the V&A Waterfront making it a great place to stay. The room was great, comfortable bed and very clean. Breakfast was amazing with a fantastic choice. The area felt very safe and there is easy access from there to all the sights in Cape Town. I would definately chose the Commodore again if i am in Cape Town!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location close to the Waterfront

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: Consider supporting a guests request to STOP the noise of builders
Location: Near waterfront and shops/restaurants. Very handy.
Could have been a good experience except builders were on site chatting calling out to each other playing a radio at 5am in the morning. We told the desk about this and they said they could not do anything. Rubbish. The drivers for the hotel were great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from china

Great location, excellent staff

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Comfortable room, general service including turn down service each evening, fantastic breakfast with lots of choice.
Cons: Nothing, the hotel is presently being renovated.
Location: The hotel is about five minutes walk from the Waterfront with lots of restaurants and shops and cinemas. The aquarium is also about the same distance.
I was lucky enough to get one of the rooms that had just been renovated. It was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. There is still renovation work going on but I was out all day while the workmen were busy. Staff were friendly and helpful and made all guests feel valued.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

NICE HOTEL NEAR THE WATERFRONT

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: WONDERFUL BREAKFAST INCLUDED IN THE PRICE OF STAY. FRIENDLINESS AND HELPFULNESS OF HOTEL STAFF.
Location: LARGE SHOPPING MALL WITH MANY SHOPS AND MANY RESTAURANTS.
EXCELLENT LOCATION NEAR MANY RESTAURANTS AND SHOPPING. ALL PERSONNEL AT THE HOTEL WERE VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

Close to the waterfront

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: Clean and very comfortable beds.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Near the Waterfront.
This hotel is situated in the perfect spot. Able to walk safely to the eateries and shops as well as being close to the waterfront for ferries and the tour bus. The staff couldn't be more attentive and so helpful in planning our trips. There was a great choice for breakfast and dinner was delicious.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exceptional Value Close to the Waterfront

Posted May 28, 2016
This was a hotel that had been recommended to me by a colleague. I was able to book an airfare + hotel package through Expedia. The hotel did not disappoint--in fact it was even better than I imagined. Had a lovely view of Table Mountain and could see the Marina. Service was exceptional. Highly recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middle East

Won't go back - don't recommend.

Posted May 22, 2016
Cons: Customer service, room cleanliness, etc.
Location: Near the VA Waterfront
The hotel relies on its convenient location to the waterfront. I arrived to discover the hotel under renovation. There was jack hammering in the room above me and when I complained I was informed they would tell the manager but that the noise would stop by 4pm. Never heard from the manager - bursts of jack hammering started again at 7am and 8am. Parking is underground but there is no clear direction where to park and how to get up to the lobby to check-in. Breakfast was included but it was bland fare. Bath/Shower was had extensive mold/mildew over and under the caulk - hair from previous residents was present stuck on the upper parts of the shower/tub wall.
4 out of 5
by Karen from Atlanta

Just OK hotel

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
The first room we were given was not acceptable, very noisy area and outdated room. The second room was VERY nice. Elevator broke, however, when we were there and had to use stairs to get to our 4th story room and service elevator to get bags down to check out. Message center was unreliable. Concierge was very friendly and helpful. All in all a mixed experience. Unpleasant walk to the waterfront. Not too far, but dangerous. We were almost hit by a runaway driver our last night in the hotel. Next time I would stay closer to the waterfront.
4 out of 5
by Gertrud from Zürich

Günstiges Hotel, sehr nahe zur Waterfront

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Ein gut renoviertes, älteres Hotel mit komfortablem, modernem Zimmer. Grosszügiges Frühstücksbuffet. Freundliches Personal. Wlan bis zu einem festgelegten Punkt kostenlosen. Kann das Hotel besonders wegen der ruhigen Lage (Zimmer mit Aussicht auf Waterfront) weiter empfehlen.
4 out of 5
by jan from Malmö

Bra boende men trafiken kan störa.

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
Läget är perfekt. 400m från Waterfront. Frukostbuffen var riklig.Flera varma rätter. Stort utbud av ost och exotisk frukt. Det som inte var lika bra var att jag fick rum på andra våningen, precis ovanför entren på hotellet. Vaknade flera gånger under natten av personers prat. Biltrafiken blrjade vid 7 på morgonen. Om ni väljer att bo här, se till att få ett rum som inte ligger med fönster mot gatan.