Ratings based on 536 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin

Cape Town hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Very noisy early every morning waking everyone- doors banging needs to receive attention
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Muneeb, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback . The matter of the banging doors is being looked at. We hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. Muneeb Eksteen Guest Relations Department
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel very close to the V&A

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Just a few minutes from the heart of the V&A Waterfont, the second time I've stayed at this hotel and can't fault it, fantastic staff, extremely friendly and helpful. Only downside was the noise from the seagulls on the building opposite, not the hotels fault, obviously, but they never shut up! Had a breathtaking view of Tabe Mountain, highly recommend this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Muneeb , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and also the view of Table Mountain. We hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. Muneeb Eksteen Guest Relations Department
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Perfect location

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: loved it
Cons: Early coaches could turn off their engines which would run for a good 30mins in the car park which made the noise and fumes travel up to the bedrooms
Location: Perfect for the waterfront shopping and restaraunts and picking up HO/HO bus. Watershed - wonderful shopping.
Nice welcoming staff from front of desk and concierge. Breakfast choice was very good and staff once again very friendly if a bit over efficient because on two mornings leaving the table to get a 2nd choice and going back to our table, the coffee etc., had been cleared and someone sitting at our table. Very accommodating at finding us a new table. The room had a view of Table Mountain and seeing the sun shine on it in the morning was amazing. Cleaning staff always there with a friendly hello.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Muneeb, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. Muneeb Eksteen Guest Relations Department
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the V&A Waterfront shopping

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Location. Good breakfast was included
Cons: Customer service courtesy at Check-in
Location: V&A Waterfront shopping area
Checked in late to the hotel, and was allowed a late check out. Breakfast choice was good but could not be leisurely, as dining staff was too quick to remove plates.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Muneeb, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. Muneeb Eksteen Guest Relations Department
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lausanne, Switzerland

Not worth 4 stars

Posted May 16, 2017
The rooms are OK but not really worth 4 stars. Noise until 01:00 AM. Some people were let drink and make noise until 01:00. Will not go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Muneeb, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest We have noted your comments which has been raised with the Head of Department/s in order to ensure that corrective and remedial action is implemented. Please be assured that this is not the Standard of Service we pride ourselves in, and it is hoped that this experience does not tarnish your impression of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. Regards Muneeb Eksteen Guest Relations Department
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

good modern hotel

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: rooms are good size with staff that are very accommodating.
Location: Location is v good for activities of waterfront shopping/tourist area.
staff are friendly and very accommodating and attentive. Restaurant has a good chef and no need to visit the many nearby restaurants. excellent location for waterfront activities.
5 out of 5
by B A

Perfect Location for the Waterfront

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
The Commodore is ideally situated to visit the V & A Waterfront at Cape Town. The staff are excellent, in all departments. Our only negative is that the air con unit in the room is loud. It takes awhile to get use to!
5 out of 5
by Steven

Best stay in Cape Town.

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
I have just got back from spending 2 weeks in SA, and I stayed in several Hotels - including others in Cape Town. This Hotel was by far the best. The people working here are very friendly and will do everything they can to help you, with out being overzealous. The hotel rooms are spotless and are modern and luxurious. On arrival I asked for a room with a view, and the very helpful receptionist changed my room to one with a view of Table Top Mountain, with no fuss. The breakfast was great with a large selection of food and choice. The location is just great - a 2-3 min walk max to the waterfront, where you have a host of great places to eat and relax with a drink. I wish I stayed here throughout my whole stay, and I would most definitely recommend and stay again. Thank you to the commodore for making my stay a fab one.
4 out of 5
by Konstantinos

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Style, staff, service, comfort, location.
Location: Close to V&A Docks, convenient to CBD; easy connection to winelands, Cape of Good Hope/Hout Bay/Simons Town, Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens, airport
We had an executive room with a balcony with a great view of Table Mountain, the city and the docks. It was very comfortable (minor quibble - space for suitcases for two was limited). Staff very helpful - travel advisor particularly helpful. Slightly old-fashioned in style which suited us perfectly. Very conveniently located in safe (and quiet) area and walking distance to V&A Docks; convenient for CBD also. We found travel to the Cape, the winelands and the botanical gardens easily organised and made a great day-trip; the drivers from the associated car service were extremely nice and well-informed. Breakfasts (particularly in courtyard) very generous and pleasant; dinner entirely acceptable and also generous.