Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Well located to V and A waterfront. Hotel showing its age a little. Management excellent. Housekeeping a little lazy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Superb location.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Service and proximity to the V & A Waterfront.
Cons: Nothing, perfect!
Location: So much to do and see, wish we had had more time here.
We had excellent service from everyone at this hotel. We had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay in the heart of Cape Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia.

Fabulous hotel with friendly & helpful staff.

Posted Dec 29, 2016
We have stayed at The Commodore twice now while visiting from Australia. Staff are very attentive and service is outstanding. We needed a doctor and the hotel had the house doctor in our room within the half hour and on Xmas Eve. Fabulous service. All the facilities are excellent and the gym is very well equiped. The location is handy to the Waterfront so you are right in the middle of fantastic restaurants and the best shops. Most importantly the breakfast buffet is amazing!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Shiteen,Marilyn and Elizabeth are just wonderful.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Staff are their best asset Staff all too willing to help Rooms are serviced twice daily Rooms are comfortable, clean and well equipped Best performing hotel in the Waterfront for the money I've holidayed at the waterfront every year for the last five Decembers and this is the best hotel for the money
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Angola

Terrible Service.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: It´s close to waterfront.
Cons: The staff should be trained to treat all guests equally with respect, cordiality and friendliness. The carpet should be removed because of allergies.
Location: Close to Waterfront.
The reason I´m mentioning ethnicity at all is because I think their treatment of me was conditioned by their bias toward darker colored people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

First rate hotel in convenient location

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: The very English style, valet parking, fantastic buffet breakfast and superb service from all staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Within walking distance to the V & A Waterfront,fantastic shopping centre and a myriad of restaurants.
We spent 6 nights at the Commodore and absolutely loved the pampering we received. It has a truly English colonial style and service standard. We cannot compliment the smiling staff enough, they were tops. Highly recommended and we would certainly return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good hotel 2 blocks from the waterfront

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Location, service, staff, view
Cons: There was a separate toilet in the room, but no door to isolate the shower / bath area, so if you turned on the light it was a little inconvenient.
Location: 2 blocks from the waterfront. easy walk to the area and very safe.
This was a good hotel in the Waterfront district. The room was clean and comfortable and all wait staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and inexpensive. Items from the minibar also inexpensive. As we were staying in the area for 8 days, we booked one of the suites, which was great. We stayed in 6024 with a huge balcony and a view of the waterfront. 6037 (The room across the hallway) was even larger and had a view of waterfront and table mountain. The hotel does have a laundry service, but there is a laundry (named What the Fluff) in the Portswood hotel parking garage next door that will wash, dry, fold or iron and is very inexpensive, with same day service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lebanon

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Great stay! Friendly staff, great facilities, tasty food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk England

Right in the heart of V&A waterfront scene

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Location , hospitality and comfort.
Cons: Really can't think of a thing.
Location: Walking distance of the Waterfront shopping area. Marina . Ripley's believe it or not exhibition. Aquarium. Old fort museum. The tour bus a must !
We stayed here for 14 nights and couldn't fault anything. Room large with 2 queen size beds , fridge , tea making facilities free electronic safe large enough for our 2 laptops and paperwork.Large flat screen T.V. Free WI FI, enormous shower and powerful spray. Complimentary toiletries , bottled water (still & sparkling ) tea bag assortment and coffee (ground & instant) Short bread fingers and a turn down service if wanted with chocolates. A mix of young and old , holiday makers and conference attendees. We shall be coming back. Thank you to all the staff . You do a great job.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miramar, Florida

Excellent location, close to the V and A waterfron

Posted Sep 27, 2016
The main draw for me was the location - a five minute walk to the V and A waterfront, which is one of South Africa's main tourist attractions. The staff members are friendly and the hotel facilities and services are of a high standard. The room rates were competitively priced relative to other similar hotels. Highly recommend.