Ratings based on 482 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good hotel 2 blocks from the waterfront

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Location, service, staff, view
Cons: There was a separate toilet in the room, but no door to isolate the shower / bath area, so if you turned on the light it was a little inconvenient.
Location: 2 blocks from the waterfront. easy walk to the area and very safe.
This was a good hotel in the Waterfront district. The room was clean and comfortable and all wait staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and inexpensive. Items from the minibar also inexpensive. As we were staying in the area for 8 days, we booked one of the suites, which was great. We stayed in 6024 with a huge balcony and a view of the waterfront. 6037 (The room across the hallway) was even larger and had a view of waterfront and table mountain. The hotel does have a laundry service, but there is a laundry (named What the Fluff) in the Portswood hotel parking garage next door that will wash, dry, fold or iron and is very inexpensive, with same day service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lebanon

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Great stay! Friendly staff, great facilities, tasty food
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk England

Right in the heart of V&A waterfront scene

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Location , hospitality and comfort.
Cons: Really can't think of a thing.
Location: Walking distance of the Waterfront shopping area. Marina . Ripley's believe it or not exhibition. Aquarium. Old fort museum. The tour bus a must !
We stayed here for 14 nights and couldn't fault anything. Room large with 2 queen size beds , fridge , tea making facilities free electronic safe large enough for our 2 laptops and paperwork.Large flat screen T.V. Free WI FI, enormous shower and powerful spray. Complimentary toiletries , bottled water (still & sparkling ) tea bag assortment and coffee (ground & instant) Short bread fingers and a turn down service if wanted with chocolates. A mix of young and old , holiday makers and conference attendees. We shall be coming back. Thank you to all the staff . You do a great job.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miramar, Florida

Excellent location, close to the V and A waterfron

Posted Sep 27, 2016
The main draw for me was the location - a five minute walk to the V and A waterfront, which is one of South Africa's main tourist attractions. The staff members are friendly and the hotel facilities and services are of a high standard. The room rates were competitively priced relative to other similar hotels. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Decent hotel, decent location, very nice staff

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Proximity to V&A waterfront. Nice outside area (restaurant seating and pool). Gym was quite well equipped and in a quiet area, affording privacy.
Cons: Bathroom lacks hooks and/or rails for hanging up handtowels. Supply of toiletries was very limited and the quality so-so for a 4* rating hotel.
Location: V&A Waterfront for big choice of food & drink and shopping. V&A food market is good, and the craft market is huge and excellent (though expensive).
Check in was quick and reception and bar staff were very professional and friendly. My room, unfortunately, had no view as it faced the hotel atrium. All I could see was the windows of other rooms. Supply of toiletries was very limited and the quality so-so for a 4* rating hotel. Easy walking distance to V&A Waterfront is a bonus, and it was quiet at night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seoul,korea

Good to travel

Posted Sep 16, 2016
It is located near water front and convenient to use city sightseeing buses. Good meals and well-organized hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tolles Hotel in toller Lage

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Klasse Lage.für das Hotel. Da stimmt das Preis-Leistungsverhältnis.
5 out of 5
by sandra from Sāo Paulo

Hotel com excelente!

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Eu gostei muito do hotel principalmente pela excelente localizacao e pelos servicos prestados. O hotel fica a alguns metros do "Waterfront" um calçadao a beira mar onde encontramos varios tipos de entretenimentos como restaurantes excelentes , um shopping center enorme com grandes marcas, pubs,e uma vista linda, de forma que nao precisavamos de pegar taxi. Usamos taxi apenas a noite para conhecer o centro da cidade. Ha dois concierges ( guias de turismo) no hotel muito educados que ficam disponiveis durante todo o dia e a noite, para que voce possa fechar seus passeios com tranquilidade. O cafe da manhā era excelente com grande quantidade de frutas,bolos, omeletes, ovos,completo. Os atendentes do hotel sao todos educados e prestativos,ha uma linda piscina e um jardim pequeno na area externa muito lindos que infelizmente nao usamos pois o tempo estava frio. O hotel parece ser um pouco antigo com decoracao do hall classica , ha carpetes nos corredores e nos quartos mas tudo muito limpo e nao atrapalhou em nada.Ha servico de limpeza dos quartos todos os dias e lencois e edredons sao muito macios. Ficaria novamente no hotel em um proxima oportunidade e recomendo muito.
5 out of 5
by constance

Congrats to the staff

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was over-the-top helpful and considerate. Did so much to help us...advice, directions, breakfast to go for an early morning departure.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, fantatic location!

Posted Aug 16, 2016
The Commodore is perfectly located at the V&A Waterfront making it a great place to stay. The room was great, comfortable bed and very clean. Breakfast was amazing with a fantastic choice. The area felt very safe and there is easy access from there to all the sights in Cape Town. I would definately chose the Commodore again if i am in Cape Town!