Ratings based on 528 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Perfect location

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: loved it
Cons: Early coaches could turn off their engines which would run for a good 30mins in the car park which made the noise and fumes travel up to the bedrooms
Location: Perfect for the waterfront shopping and restaraunts and picking up HO/HO bus. Watershed - wonderful shopping.
Nice welcoming staff from front of desk and concierge. Breakfast choice was very good and staff once again very friendly if a bit over efficient because on two mornings leaving the table to get a 2nd choice and going back to our table, the coffee etc., had been cleared and someone sitting at our table. Very accommodating at finding us a new table. The room had a view of Table Mountain and seeing the sun shine on it in the morning was amazing. Cleaning staff always there with a friendly hello.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the V&A Waterfront shopping

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Location. Good breakfast was included
Cons: Customer service courtesy at Check-in
Location: V&A Waterfront shopping area
Checked in late to the hotel, and was allowed a late check out. Breakfast choice was good but could not be leisurely, as dining staff was too quick to remove plates.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lausanne, Switzerland

Not worth 4 stars

Posted May 16, 2017
The rooms are OK but not really worth 4 stars. Noise until 01:00 AM. Some people were let drink and make noise until 01:00. Will not go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

good modern hotel

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: rooms are good size with staff that are very accommodating.
Location: Location is v good for activities of waterfront shopping/tourist area.
staff are friendly and very accommodating and attentive. Restaurant has a good chef and no need to visit the many nearby restaurants. excellent location for waterfront activities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai, UAE

Awful Hotel with Great Location

Posted Apr 2, 2017
I stayed in this hotel for 12 nights during my trip to Cape Town and it wasn't a nice one, although, I loved this beautiful city and had a wonderful time. The pros for this hotel are: the room is comfortable, good housekeeping with turn-down service, the location is great. The cons are way too many, so will try to summarize most: The front desk staff was extremely unfriendly during check-in and checkout, I had to remind them to reverse the room deposit charged to my CC during check-in since I didn't accrue any incidentals during my stay. The breakfast buffet has very limited choices with poor food quality. The gym is not air conditioned and if you go midday, it is uncomfortably warm since it is indirect sunlight. The bell captains are not helpful, I was not offered any assistance with my luggage during check in or checkout. You will find it difficult to sleep past 8am since housekeeping staff are extremely loud in the hallways, slamming room doors and chatting. The bathroom in the room I stayed in had a horrible smell that was coming out of the drainage pipe so housekeeping couldn't do anything about. Overall, the hotel is poorly managed and Expedia should remove it from the VIP list.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but...

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Location, lobby, breakfast and swim area.
Great location, nice lobby and decent breakfasts included. Room was a bit small but main disappointment was the bathroom. Nice shower but no fan, drawers and one power outlet. Also sink area is not separate from shower so without a fan, it becomes steamy in there while getting ready. Also, general lack of power outlets in room. Elevators were small as well and one was out of service.
4 out of 5
by Eric

Excellent

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms are refurbished but are quite small even the "deluxe" room on the executive floor. AC was effective but was a 1970's wall unit mostly inside the room so could not be used while sleeping due to noise. Pool area was nice but closed 3 hrs per day due to water restrictions. Breakfast staff very good but bar staff were not as they would spend too much time chatting with customers rather than actually doing the job and serving drinks. WiFi is only "free" for about first 100mb (claims 500) which was useless for a business trip. Area is safe enough and location is good for the marina.
3 out of 5
by Lorna K

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
The uprgrade in the room was noticeable. The location is the best, but the interiors rooms were not at the level to the hotel's 4 stars status. It seems however they have made upgrades which now complements the exterior, lobby and dining areas.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
Great location for visiting the sights at V&A waterfront