Ratings based on 524 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Perfect location

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: loved it
Cons: Early coaches could turn off their engines which would run for a good 30mins in the car park which made the noise and fumes travel up to the bedrooms
Location: Perfect for the waterfront shopping and restaraunts and picking up HO/HO bus. Watershed - wonderful shopping.
Nice welcoming staff from front of desk and concierge. Breakfast choice was very good and staff once again very friendly if a bit over efficient because on two mornings leaving the table to get a 2nd choice and going back to our table, the coffee etc., had been cleared and someone sitting at our table. Very accommodating at finding us a new table. The room had a view of Table Mountain and seeing the sun shine on it in the morning was amazing. Cleaning staff always there with a friendly hello.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the V&A Waterfront shopping

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Location. Good breakfast was included
Cons: Customer service courtesy at Check-in
Location: V&A Waterfront shopping area
Checked in late to the hotel, and was allowed a late check out. Breakfast choice was good but could not be leisurely, as dining staff was too quick to remove plates.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lausanne, Switzerland

Not worth 4 stars

Posted May 16, 2017
The rooms are OK but not really worth 4 stars. Noise until 01:00 AM. Some people were let drink and make noise until 01:00. Will not go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

good modern hotel

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: rooms are good size with staff that are very accommodating.
Location: Location is v good for activities of waterfront shopping/tourist area.
staff are friendly and very accommodating and attentive. Restaurant has a good chef and no need to visit the many nearby restaurants. excellent location for waterfront activities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai, UAE

Awful Hotel with Great Location

Posted Apr 2, 2017
I stayed in this hotel for 12 nights during my trip to Cape Town and it wasn't a nice one, although, I loved this beautiful city and had a wonderful time. The pros for this hotel are: the room is comfortable, good housekeeping with turn-down service, the location is great. The cons are way too many, so will try to summarize most: The front desk staff was extremely unfriendly during check-in and checkout, I had to remind them to reverse the room deposit charged to my CC during check-in since I didn't accrue any incidentals during my stay. The breakfast buffet has very limited choices with poor food quality. The gym is not air conditioned and if you go midday, it is uncomfortably warm since it is indirect sunlight. The bell captains are not helpful, I was not offered any assistance with my luggage during check in or checkout. You will find it difficult to sleep past 8am since housekeeping staff are extremely loud in the hallways, slamming room doors and chatting. The bathroom in the room I stayed in had a horrible smell that was coming out of the drainage pipe so housekeeping couldn't do anything about. Overall, the hotel is poorly managed and Expedia should remove it from the VIP list.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but...

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Location, lobby, breakfast and swim area.
Great location, nice lobby and decent breakfasts included. Room was a bit small but main disappointment was the bathroom. Nice shower but no fan, drawers and one power outlet. Also sink area is not separate from shower so without a fan, it becomes steamy in there while getting ready. Also, general lack of power outlets in room. Elevators were small as well and one was out of service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Good Hotel , great location.....

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Great friendly staff, very helpful......great breakfast!!! The Travel desk really helped me out after my airport transfer didn't turn up - thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Great Location, friendly staff. Felt very safe there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Swansea, Wales

Lovely hotel in great location

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Everything! Even the bedroom light switches that didn't require a degree to operate!
Cons: Would have loved some balcony chairs
Location: Brilliant location less than five minutes to the Waterfront. Lots of info in hotel from knowledgeable staff who are helpful and have great suggestions
Just returned from a fabulous nine day stay at The Commodore in Cape Town, we love this hotel and will shortly be planning to return. This hotel is not the bland corporate mega chain type that we so often see in our cities. This is a hotel with charm and personality. The staff are probably the best we've ever come across, the facilities are tip top, bar and restaurant staff especially greet you like friends. The Commodore is 'old fashioned' in the very best sense, where the customer is king. It's quirky, cute and in a great position near the V&A Waterfront. We had the impression that many guests were returnees, and we can see why. We had an Executive room and couldn't fault it, spotlessly clean, modern and spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Fantastic hotel with wonderful staff.

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: The location was perfect. The staff were amazing and the character of the hotel was sophisticated yet friendly.
Cons: The bar service around the pool area could be improved. It was very rarely that a member of staff visited the pool area to ask for drink orders.
Location: Excellent location, situated within 3-4 minutes walk from all the amenities at the V & A Waterfront. Many rooms have views of Table Mountain.
The Commodore Hotel was in a great location within 3-4 minutes walk from all the amenities at the V & A Waterfront. We booked two rooms and were upgraded to the Executive floor which was fantastic. The rooms were adequate in size, but not big. However, both rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the furnishings were of a high standard. Each room also had fantastic views of Table Mountain and the Waterfront. The thing that stood out at The Commodore was the staff. Each and every member of staff we met went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We were always greeted with a smile and nothing was every too much bother. The staff go out of their way to ensure that the guests are happy and we could not fault them. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Commodore and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cape Town.