Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Andre from Bloemfontein

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Most enjoyable relaxing stay as a prelude to a wedding
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Interesting place with great character

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Pros: It is a rambling property that has been added onto over the years. Great character, and gardens with some very private sitting areas.
Location: In the heart of wine country.
Stayed two nights prior to joining a wine tour near Stellenbosch, and we wanted to unwind after flying in from Canada. Very quiet, with wonderful views.
4 out of 5
by Lorenzo from Johannesburg

Great comfortable overnight stay

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was very comfortable. It is in a safe area and close to Century City. The room was clean. I loved the breakfast.. great breakfast and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by Malin from Kent, UK

Amazing Devon Valley Hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
We had an amazing stay at the Devon Valley hotel, the staff were so friendly and helpful, and the room was really nice. We also loved the food in their restaurant it was 5 star quality all the way. We will without a doubt go back one day.
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enroute to the airport

Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were very helpful but the hotel and facilities were a tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shepperton UK

Beautiful setting

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: The beautiful situation, amongst the vineyards. Felt like we were in the middle of nowhere but only 5 minutes form the beautiful town of Stellenbosch.
Cons: At night the walk back to our room was very dark and paveing was uneven. Could do with more lighting for the path.
Location: Stellenbosch is a lovely historic town with modern shops. Lots of vineyards to visit to sample good food and wine. 30mins drive to Cape Town.
We had a very relaxing time at this hotel. At check in we were given a cold glass of wine and sat on the patio overlooking the vineyards. When we were ready taken to our large room with private patio. The breakfast was excellent, everything you could wish for. The evening meals were always cooked to perfection. The staff always helpful and friendly. On the downside they had a large tour, 48 people, stay while we were there which made the hotel feel crowded and noisy, for one night. There were other smaller tours which stayed mostly one night, which was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good hotel not far from Cape Town International

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Stayed for one night before catching a very early morning flight from Cape Town International. Older facilities, but with very good views of the wine country. Flavours restaurant is excellent. Very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Luxury and comfort in Stellenbosch

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Comfortable and luxurious, lovely views, good food
3 out of 5
by Sergio from cape town

Bland hotel bland stay

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
We traveled to Stellenbosch for a wedding and decided to extend our stay for the long weekend that followed. There was nothing wrong with the hotel but it does feel very corporate and plain with little or no charm. The staff are all very grey and you never feel "looked after" only just accomodated. Breakfast felt like a standard hotel breakfast and nothing to report. Our only annoyance was asking for an extended check out on the last day (as we woke up late and were a little disorganised) but were very reluctantly given and extra 15min (Why bother?) under the excuse that someone needed the room. Check out is at 11 and check in at 2, surely it doesn't take 3 hours to clean a room of that size?