Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Great staff, clean a little further out but we liked this the most. Breakfast selection was great and rooms were really spacious
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A very pleasant place to stay in the wine area.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Views of surrounding country was beautiful and the gardens full of bountiful roses and Agapanthus and many other varieties.
Location: Stellenbosch wine area and also villages of Franksoen and Paarl.
Out room was in the older original home on the wine estate. It was called Manorhouse. Very comfortable and pleasant. The restaurant was also well run with good food and great buffet breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doset, U.K.

Lovely hotel in the Cape Winelands.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Location, comfort, brilliant staff, excellent food, comfy beds, log fires to keep the winter chill at bay.
Cons: Can't think of anything that could be improved.
Location: Set In the Devon Valley area of Stellenbosch, in the Cape Winelands area. Surrounded by beautiful vineyards, with a fantastic mountain backdrop.
Good location, really lovely hotel, with brilliant staff, comfortable and nicely furnished rooms. Roaring fires in the dining room and bar, gorgeous food, and breakfast was exceptionally good. Far too much to eat - again! Excellent base for touring the Winelands, Stellenbosch itself is really beautiful, and the wine tours are a must. Wish every hotel was as welcoming and hospitable as this one. We'd certainly recommend it, and would definitely be happy to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Interesting place with great character

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Pros: It is a rambling property that has been added onto over the years. Great character, and gardens with some very private sitting areas.
Location: In the heart of wine country.
Stayed two nights prior to joining a wine tour near Stellenbosch, and we wanted to unwind after flying in from Canada. Very quiet, with wonderful views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shepperton UK

Beautiful setting

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: The beautiful situation, amongst the vineyards. Felt like we were in the middle of nowhere but only 5 minutes form the beautiful town of Stellenbosch.
Cons: At night the walk back to our room was very dark and paveing was uneven. Could do with more lighting for the path.
Location: Stellenbosch is a lovely historic town with modern shops. Lots of vineyards to visit to sample good food and wine. 30mins drive to Cape Town.
We had a very relaxing time at this hotel. At check in we were given a cold glass of wine and sat on the patio overlooking the vineyards. When we were ready taken to our large room with private patio. The breakfast was excellent, everything you could wish for. The evening meals were always cooked to perfection. The staff always helpful and friendly. On the downside they had a large tour, 48 people, stay while we were there which made the hotel feel crowded and noisy, for one night. There were other smaller tours which stayed mostly one night, which was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good hotel not far from Cape Town International

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Stayed for one night before catching a very early morning flight from Cape Town International. Older facilities, but with very good views of the wine country. Flavours restaurant is excellent. Very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Luxury and comfort in Stellenbosch

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Comfortable and luxurious, lovely views, good food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg, South Africa

Understated, but excellent value

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Loved the staff, the cute room, the location, and the food!
Cons: I would suggest that this hotel just update the overall decor especially the restaurant and bar.
Location: There are 4 vineyards on the road with great tastings and nice restaurants. If you want a treat book a patio table at the restaurant at Clos Malverne.
Great staff, environment, views, but could do with some slight renovation in the overall decor. Family friendly, food to die for, and on a street with some great vineyards and very little traffic. If you want a chill stay then rent a car, pick this place, and travel all over Stellenbosch and the vicinity.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kenya

Nice place...perfect for vineyard experience

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: I loved the view and the pizza!
Cons: Chef's attitude towards vegetarians!!
I found this hotel a bit far from Stellenbosch, its on a lonely road about 10km from main Stellenbosch town which didn't inspire venturing out at night. The room was ok but did not feel 4 star- maybe more 3 star. the food was ok...not particularly brilliant..... overall ok if you are look for comfortable, clean place but not luxury
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Cape Town

Pleasant hotel as a base for exploring or relaxing

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Buffet breakfast and bath tub.
Pleasant and comfortable stay with several cute outdoor areas to pull out a book and read with a pretty vista. Make sure you get a room with a bath tub!