Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Great staff, clean a little further out but we liked this the most. Breakfast selection was great and rooms were really spacious
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful and classy

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
It was hard to want to leave the property to go anywhere else
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing stay

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxing.Helpfull and friendly staff.Excellent breakfast.Best pizza!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A very pleasant place to stay in the wine area.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Views of surrounding country was beautiful and the gardens full of bountiful roses and Agapanthus and many other varieties.
Location: Stellenbosch wine area and also villages of Franksoen and Paarl.
Out room was in the older original home on the wine estate. It was called Manorhouse. Very comfortable and pleasant. The restaurant was also well run with good food and great buffet breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
The grounds of the Devon Valley are beautiful. We had to pay more for an upgrade since the original room was really small. Unfortunately, the free WiFi was very unreliable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doset, U.K.

Lovely hotel in the Cape Winelands.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Location, comfort, brilliant staff, excellent food, comfy beds, log fires to keep the winter chill at bay.
Cons: Can't think of anything that could be improved.
Location: Set In the Devon Valley area of Stellenbosch, in the Cape Winelands area. Surrounded by beautiful vineyards, with a fantastic mountain backdrop.
Good location, really lovely hotel, with brilliant staff, comfortable and nicely furnished rooms. Roaring fires in the dining room and bar, gorgeous food, and breakfast was exceptionally good. Far too much to eat - again! Excellent base for touring the Winelands, Stellenbosch itself is really beautiful, and the wine tours are a must. Wish every hotel was as welcoming and hospitable as this one. We'd certainly recommend it, and would definitely be happy to stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Gerard from London

Relax and enjoy

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Great views and lovely food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Andrew from Surrey

Beautiful stay. Excellent staff.

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
Really enjoyable 2 nights. Food, hotel staff service and room great. We had a really nice end to our stay in S Africa. We were in room 32 at end of corridor so had no disturbance from other guests. Only downside was shower - v difficult to control temperature. It must have taken at least 5 mins and the amount of a bathful of water before I reached the correct temperature. (Also grout needed cleaning in corners)