Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
The Last word is truly an amazing experience. From the second you enter, you are greeted by the staff who carefully go through all the aspects of your room and the lounge. Service is amazing. The lounge has afternoon tea and free beverages in the evening with a great view on the sea. We were only a bit disappointed by the area of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Cassandra from Sheffield

Bliss - no other word does it justice

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
A business trip with a weekend is often not much fun when overloaded with work you feel you need to continue to clear the decks. Needing some peace, quiet, and re-invigoration, I found this hotel, which actually is not all that far from Cape Town. But what a world away. I felt like I had had two weeks off. Amazing location and wonderful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mxolisi

Great experience-will definitely be going back

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
My girlfriend and I had an AMAZING time at the Last Word and will definitely be going again!! From the way we were welcomed to the place, the people are extremely friendly, nurturing and actually care about how we were feeling throughout our stay. It's so secluded that we felt like we were the only guests there!!! Our walks on the beach were priceless!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Renier from Gauteng - South Africa

The Last Word is the Very Best!

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely everything about the stay was wonderful – the rooms, the catering, the staff and the views were extraordinary – I can recommend this without any hesitations!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by M. from UGANDA

Enchanting stay

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
MOST CHARMING HOTEL AND PLEASANT STAFF.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Terrible

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Arrived on Monday... Hotel has no food...no restaurants are open in town on Mondays except one and they only serve pizza. Had to walk 20 minutes in the dark to get to this place. Pool was broken not able to use for our entire stay. Had beautiful glass doors overlooking the outside but people wandering around constantly so you could not have open. Bed was sunk in the middle and hard. Furniture was old and dirty. On a good note the staff was very friendly and tried very hard to help but there was too much to overcome. Had just left a beautiful place in Bantry Bay… We should have stayed there. I would never go back to this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location, on the beach, comfortable.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The facilities and room were very comfortable, staff was great, location was great right on the beach.
Cons: The water pressure in the shower was lacking, could be improved.
Location: The location was peaceful, about 30-45 minutes from the waterfront in Capetown, close to Cape Point, great restaurants nearby in Kalks Bay/Simons Town
We very much enjoyed our stay at the hotel, the staff were amazing. We were made to feel very welcome, relaxing atmosphere. We will stay at the Last Word Long Beach again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Franz from Österreich

Exclusives kleines Hideaway am Strand

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Location: Hotel in ruhiger Strandlage an der Westküste der Kaphalbinsel. Erkundung der Kaphalbinsel. Nur eine halbe Autostunde von Kapstadt entfernt.
Direkt am wunderschönen Sandstrand gelegen mit nur ganz wenigen Zimmern. Zimmer und Bad sehr geräumig mit Blick in den Garten bzw. auf Strand und Meer Richtung Norden zur Bucht von Hout Bay bis zum Tafelberg. Sehr herzlicher Empfang und Gästebetreuung durch die Inhaberin. Sehr gutes Frühstück mit ebenfalls wunderbaren Ausblicken übers Meer. Etwas versteckt gelegen und nicht so leicht zu finden, weil keine gute Beschilderung vorhanden. Pool relativ klein (ca. 7-8m). Ein romantischer, ruhiger Platz zum Wohlfühlen. Um gut Essen zu gehen, muss man mit Auto oder Taxi fahren. Einfache Lokale in der Nähe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by TM

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dr K from UK

Lovely place lovely staff

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Pros: Setting is stunning and the staff are wonderful - nothing is too much trouble
Cons: Nil
Location: As previously noted - this place is on the Beach.
Stayed here for 2 nights at end of a three week holiday. The setting is stunning and the staff make it a really great place to stay. The food was excellent and Jennifer, Joan and the rest of the staff were so helpful and attentive. We asked if we could eat in on the last evening and this was arranged to perfection, the food was superb. Very easy to reach all parts of southern peninsula - we managed to do Cape Point, Boulders Beach, Simons Town and the Coast to Kalk Bay, Cape Point Winery and two local farms, easily in a day.