Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quiet and great location

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Staff, location
Cons: Plumbing
We loved the hotel staff, pool, quite ambiance, and location of this small hotel. The room was clean (but small), the bed was very comfortable, and we had a nice view of the pool from the veranda. Capetown is suffering from a severe drought and we tried to save water, but the toilet was leaky and the plumbing could be improved. There was no screen on the patio door so we weren't able to get much fresh air. All in all, the room was a great value and we definitely enjoyed our stay and recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night at One8

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Comfortable bed, bathroom and nice outdoor eating area.
Cons: Get WIFI working. Fix problems as soon as known.
Location: We didn't do anything nearby. We tried walking into town from the hotel but the Main Rd is very busy and we ended up catching a taxi.
The sign outside was missing, it had broken completely off. The door to street was secure. Staff were friendly. There is no lift so bags must be carried up staircase. The wifi didn't work in the room, we needed it to make plans with our friends and keep in touch with family in New Zealand so that was a problem. We asked about it but it wasn't resolved during out time there. We only stayed one night. The safe in room was locked so we couldn't use it, that wasn't resolved during our time. The bathroom and bed were very comfortable. There is no separate toilet. The breakfast was well laid out and included cook breakfast in needed. There are nice fish tanks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Donald, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. The sign on our doors was indeed knocked by a delivery truck which had illegally mounted the kerb and we are doing our very best to have it replaced and put back up on the wall as soon as possible but obviously we guided by the sign people on how fast they can do the job. Regarding your safe we would have been happy to immediately unlock it for you had you notified us. We are sorry that you had problems with the WIFI but we get throttled during specific peak traffic times on a daily basis when any of our guests is downloading huge files as Cape Town WIFI follows the Fair User Policy guidelines and our WIFI is, should all our guests browse responsibly, accessible in all our guest rooms. Once again we thank you for your review and we hope you will stay with us again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Location was good
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent and friendly staff

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: The hotel was near the beach. We went on a tour of cape town
The room and amenities were among the best we have stayed. The morning breakfast was the best of any hotel we've been.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mark from West Yorkshire England

The One Eight Hotel Cape Town South Africa

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent small hotel. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, rooms very comfortable and clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Botique hotel on a Budget

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great little boutique hotel. Hot tub requires a 4-5 hour advance notice for use. 10 minute walk to the Big Red (hop-on/hop-off) Bus, Greenpointe pick up location (just north of the lighthouse)
5 out of 5
by Graham from London

Good value, friendly hotel. It won't disappoint

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
A nice hotel, friendly staff, good food and good value. The room was good overall though would have appreciated better pillows. Also the shower irritated as there is no door and the tiles were angled wrong so that the floor got soaked every time.
5 out of 5
by Vincent from Canada

Boutique hotel a quick hop from city centre

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel had about 8 rooms, a private parking pad, private swimming pool and bar, ful l breakfast service, and great views from the rooms. The room was small, but had all the right amenities and layout. Would highly recommend to anyone that wants a relaxing retreat and that would probably Uber/taxi to and from the hotel location as opposed to expect to walk everywhere from the immediate location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One eight

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel One Eight was a small hotel, clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. Room very comfortable, good size. Breakfast very tasty. Pool a bit smaller, but enough to relax. Hotel is about 10 minutes taxi ride from the tourist Waterfront area where is many restaurants to choose from.