Ratings based on 379 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northen ireland

Great location for waterfront

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Stayed one night only after working in Capetown for charity. Lovely comfortable hotel. Fridge in room slightly noisy though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, food and breakfast GREAT, hotel just ok

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Excellent location. Breakfast included was delicious and dining area, as well as staff, warm inviting, and accommodating. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all hours. Felt very safe and looked after. Free wifi included. They charged us a $50 USD deposit upon checking in which is odd to me. No other hotels do that. And we lost a few dollars on exchange when refunded after our stay. More about location - selling point for us. Although waterfront is touristy, we enjoyed being able to safely and comfortably walk to waterfront any time of day. We walked to dinner two of the nights (get reservations at Meloncinos - YUM), the hotel helped arrange car service other night we ate out (Kloof Street House highly recommend!). When we had time to kill, we walked around the waterfront enjoying street performers, sights of harbor, street markets, sipping on wine, etc. The weather changes so quickly and drastically, it was nice to have the shops there to pic up some items we needed. We, in typical tourist fashion, opted to do the hop on/hop off bus to get a feel for the city, which included free harbor cruise - short and enjoyable - and sunset trip, which we wish we could have done. (May knock this in other cities, but it was great mode of transportation to table mountain, constantia, and other main areas for cheap). We also did Robben Island. All left from waterfront. Could enjoy breakfast and then quickly move on with our day.
Cons: The room was small, dated and bathroom tight squeeze with no shower door. Didn't necessarily matter to us since we weren't there to be in the hotel, and for the price for the waterfront I think it's fair, but would have appreciated nicer rooms.
Location: V&A:Hop on Hop Off Bus, Robben Island tours, harbor cruises, dining, entertainment (comedy club!), street markets, mall, all visitor needs offered.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durban South Africa

Excellent location and beautiful Hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The attentiveness of the staff.
Cons: We requested a wake up call one morning and ended up with a rental car. I am not sure how that happened but it did make the day interesting.
Location: Lots of shops and places to eat within a short walk. The aquarium is very close and recommend the personal Penguin encounter.
The staff was especially helpful and friendly. The food was very good (we ate breakfast only at the hotel). The variety of breakfast items was great. The room and hotel were very clean and pleasant to be in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent location

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Location: It is very close to the Water Shed, the craft centre and the aquarium, as well as the Waterfront and all the shops and restaurants.
The Portswood is located very close to the V & A Waterfront. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The twin bedroom may be a little small for a long stay but perfectly adequate for a weekend. The bathroom seemed new and very clean. The buffet breakfast ofers a wide selection. It was altogether a very pleasant hotel and would enjoy going there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

great location ~ just.mins from the waterfront.

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Lastminute
Kelly on the front desk was superb. breakfast sets up the day well
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good location on V & A Waterfront

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location and there was a great pub (Ferrymans) that had live music every night. Was great to walk there for a pre dinner drink
Cons: Wifi definitely needs improving. The breakfast area is ok but if you look closely there are crumbs on the floor under each table.
Location: Right across the road from the V & A waterfront where there are heaps of restaurants and you can easily do tourist stuff from there
Great location but as you really need a car in Cape Town , I would probably sacrifice the location for a better hotel a little distance away. The hotel is ok, its just not great value for money. The bathroom was nice but the room was small and the wifi drove us mad. When it did work you had to keep logging on with the password. Maybe that's Africa but my son stayed in a much less expensive hotel about 10 mins walk away and had no problem with his wifi and he had an enormous room .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely brilliant location.

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed 16 nights in room 407 with water view.Staff very attentive and friendly.Good breakfast buffet included.Personally I did not like the lunch/dinner menu at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisiest hotel room in the world?????

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Have never stayed in such a noisy hotel room. Constant and repeated banging of a room door in the passage (day and night) for four days. Tremendous street noise from cars, trucks, passers-by shouting, etc. I got limited sleep every night I was there. Very ugly view onto a busy road and back entrance of an old building. My stay was only somewhat redeemed by the good food at breakfast and friendly restaurant and housekeeping staff. I would never stay at the Portswood ever again, nor would I recommend it to anyone!!!