Ratings based on 375 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very well situated a short walk to the Waterfront

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Sorry, must dash.
We liked the hotel ambiance, particularly in the dining room, but were disappointedt that the bedroom and bathroom were so small. The wardrobe had only 2 shelves whilst there were no drawers at all. We had to live out of our suitcases! Dinner on St Valentine's night was exceptionally good and the staff were unbelievably courteous, polite and cheerful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, Location, Location

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Convenience to the V&A Waterfront; friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Layout of some rooms is not the best with long corridors. Avoid ground floor rooms with outside windows.
Location: V&A Waterfront is great for dining, shopping, and sightseeing. It's just across the road from the Portswood.
The Portswood is just a short stroll from the V&A Waterfront. It is a great base for dining and shopping and is easily accessible for our guide to pick us up and travel around Capetown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the waterfront.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was good and our room was very comfy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You pay for the near waterfront location

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
You pay for the location, which is very good near (though not at) the waterfront. The check-in was a disaster, the room we eventually got was fine. They first tried to put us in the wrong room type and at the ground floor parking lot and then it was a huge debacle to get the room I had booked and paid for. When they were finally giving us that they (three inefficient people) decide at that point to start asking about the voucher and the wifi on which I tried to email them it was not functioning. Unfortunate draining start of the evening for my birthday. Left things tense. The breakfast was nice and a better end to the stay than the start. I would in the future rather book a nicer and/or cheaper hotel for the money and take a taxi from the city center to do the waterfront.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location, comfortable, clean plesant stay.

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Our Room was decorated and furnished in a modern style. the dining are a is dated but fine - maybe there is a refurb plan in progress? Hotel is good, staff friendly and clean. Rooms on ground floor overlooking courtyard/pool lack privacy as tables are right outside your window. if you want to do the cable car to table mountain be prepared to queue. Book Robben Island in advance. would use this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Check out is at 10! Plan accordingly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel on the waterfront

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Our suite was spacious and very comfortable. The staff could not have been more attentive-from check in to check out. Breakfast was delicious with much variety to choose from. Thank you for a thoroughly enjoyable stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very helpful staff

Posted Nov 22, 2016
after we checked out, we were allowed to leave our car and luggage stored at the hotel while we did some sightseeing. The porter even helped us retrieve some things from our bags while in storage during the day. Very accommodating. Classy hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northen ireland

Great location for waterfront

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Stayed one night only after working in Capetown for charity. Lovely comfortable hotel. Fridge in room slightly noisy though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, food and breakfast GREAT, hotel just ok

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Excellent location. Breakfast included was delicious and dining area, as well as staff, warm inviting, and accommodating. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all hours. Felt very safe and looked after. Free wifi included. They charged us a $50 USD deposit upon checking in which is odd to me. No other hotels do that. And we lost a few dollars on exchange when refunded after our stay. More about location - selling point for us. Although waterfront is touristy, we enjoyed being able to safely and comfortably walk to waterfront any time of day. We walked to dinner two of the nights (get reservations at Meloncinos - YUM), the hotel helped arrange car service other night we ate out (Kloof Street House highly recommend!). When we had time to kill, we walked around the waterfront enjoying street performers, sights of harbor, street markets, sipping on wine, etc. The weather changes so quickly and drastically, it was nice to have the shops there to pic up some items we needed. We, in typical tourist fashion, opted to do the hop on/hop off bus to get a feel for the city, which included free harbor cruise - short and enjoyable - and sunset trip, which we wish we could have done. (May knock this in other cities, but it was great mode of transportation to table mountain, constantia, and other main areas for cheap). We also did Robben Island. All left from waterfront. Could enjoy breakfast and then quickly move on with our day.
Cons: The room was small, dated and bathroom tight squeeze with no shower door. Didn't necessarily matter to us since we weren't there to be in the hotel, and for the price for the waterfront I think it's fair, but would have appreciated nicer rooms.
Location: V&A:Hop on Hop Off Bus, Robben Island tours, harbor cruises, dining, entertainment (comedy club!), street markets, mall, all visitor needs offered.