Ratings based on 356 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel on the waterfront

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Our suite was spacious and very comfortable. The staff could not have been more attentive-from check in to check out. Breakfast was delicious with much variety to choose from. Thank you for a thoroughly enjoyable stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very helpful staff

Posted Nov 22, 2016
after we checked out, we were allowed to leave our car and luggage stored at the hotel while we did some sightseeing. The porter even helped us retrieve some things from our bags while in storage during the day. Very accommodating. Classy hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Freis

Perto do V & A

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Restaurante interno MUITO bom Café Da manhã muito bom Quarto bem pequeno para os padrões africanos
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

Hotel agradável em excelente localização

Posted Nov 17, 2016
O hotel era mais antigo, mas muito bom, a localização era excelente muito próximo a water front, ponto turístico da Cidade do Cabo, o café da manhã era bom, mas se repetia todas as manhãs. O quarto era espaçoso e tudo de boa qualidade.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from São Paulo, SP, Brazil

Ótima localização

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Location: Pertíssimo da marina, dos shoppings e ótimos restaurantes
Ótima localização, ótimo café da manhã, funcionários simpáticos, quarto limpo. Ótimo custo benefício
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Localização excelente e staff muito solicito.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
A localização permite realizar a pé muitas atividades turísticas, o que é mt relevante Qd se está em uma cidade C transporte público deficiente e taxistas dispostos a enrolar o turista. Bom custo beneficio. Boa limpeza, boa roupa de cama e comodidades nos quartos. O café da manhã é repetitivo, mas de um padrão bom.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northen ireland

Great location for waterfront

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Stayed one night only after working in Capetown for charity. Lovely comfortable hotel. Fridge in room slightly noisy though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, food and breakfast GREAT, hotel just ok

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Excellent location. Breakfast included was delicious and dining area, as well as staff, warm inviting, and accommodating. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all hours. Felt very safe and looked after. Free wifi included. They charged us a $50 USD deposit upon checking in which is odd to me. No other hotels do that. And we lost a few dollars on exchange when refunded after our stay. More about location - selling point for us. Although waterfront is touristy, we enjoyed being able to safely and comfortably walk to waterfront any time of day. We walked to dinner two of the nights (get reservations at Meloncinos - YUM), the hotel helped arrange car service other night we ate out (Kloof Street House highly recommend!). When we had time to kill, we walked around the waterfront enjoying street performers, sights of harbor, street markets, sipping on wine, etc. The weather changes so quickly and drastically, it was nice to have the shops there to pic up some items we needed. We, in typical tourist fashion, opted to do the hop on/hop off bus to get a feel for the city, which included free harbor cruise - short and enjoyable - and sunset trip, which we wish we could have done. (May knock this in other cities, but it was great mode of transportation to table mountain, constantia, and other main areas for cheap). We also did Robben Island. All left from waterfront. Could enjoy breakfast and then quickly move on with our day.
Cons: The room was small, dated and bathroom tight squeeze with no shower door. Didn't necessarily matter to us since we weren't there to be in the hotel, and for the price for the waterfront I think it's fair, but would have appreciated nicer rooms.
Location: V&A:Hop on Hop Off Bus, Robben Island tours, harbor cruises, dining, entertainment (comedy club!), street markets, mall, all visitor needs offered.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durban South Africa

Excellent location and beautiful Hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The attentiveness of the staff.
Cons: We requested a wake up call one morning and ended up with a rental car. I am not sure how that happened but it did make the day interesting.
Location: Lots of shops and places to eat within a short walk. The aquarium is very close and recommend the personal Penguin encounter.
The staff was especially helpful and friendly. The food was very good (we ate breakfast only at the hotel). The variety of breakfast items was great. The room and hotel were very clean and pleasant to be in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent location

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Location: It is very close to the Water Shed, the craft centre and the aquarium, as well as the Waterfront and all the shops and restaurants.
The Portswood is located very close to the V & A Waterfront. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The twin bedroom may be a little small for a long stay but perfectly adequate for a weekend. The bathroom seemed new and very clean. The buffet breakfast ofers a wide selection. It was altogether a very pleasant hotel and would enjoy going there again.