Ratings based on 388 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai, UAE

Great base hotel for Capetown

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: The people who work there; the location
Location: The V & A Waterfront is right there. You can always get on the hop on hop off bus and see almost everything.
After doing a lot of research on hotels in Capetown, I chose this and I am so glad I did. It is literally a few minutes walk to the V & A Waterfront where there are many shops and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Muneeb, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. Muneeb Eksteen Guest Relations Department
4 out of 5
by Natalie

Will stay again and again.

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
I love staying at this hotel when we are in Cape Town. We have stayed here both times. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the room is a good size & comfortable. You can walk all over from here. I love how close it is to the waterfront. Also, the breakfast is pretty good. Not my favorite, but good. It gets the job done.
4 out of 5
by Zulema

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, location

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
We booked this hotel due to the location, and that did not disappoint. Perfect starting point for exploring and dining etc. The hotel is quite reasonably priced compared to surrounding accommodation. However, it is dated, rooms small and food ... well, average. Our room was not ready on arrival - after 2pm - and we were encouraged to have some lunch while this was attended to. We did, but when we went back to get our room key, staff had changed over and we had to line up, explain who we were and what we wanted all over again, and this process took a while. We were never given wifi code, and we 'found' our own bags to take upstairs. These are small things, but frustrating when one of us was unwell and really needed to go to the room. This is a great place to stay if you desire this location and it fits with your budget. But we have stayed in hotel next door previously, and we would definitely pay the extra next time.
3 out of 5
by Andrew

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Wifi not very good, service poor, travel (tour) desk dreadful. Location is fantastic, hotel in decent condition, room is exactly what you need - good size and all the amenities (other than the wifi). If not for the location, this hotel would be decidedly average but the location is amazing for tourists.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located and well kept

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
At the very central and waterfront location to stay in Cape Town
5 out of 5
by Joel

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful location, beautiful hotel and one of the best staff
4 out of 5
by Leo T

Convenient to the Waterfront.

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
An ideal location for visiting the V&A Waterfront. Also easy access in and out of Cape Town. The included valet parking is a huge benefit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very well situated a short walk to the Waterfront

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Sorry, must dash.
We liked the hotel ambiance, particularly in the dining room, but were disappointedt that the bedroom and bathroom were so small. The wardrobe had only 2 shelves whilst there were no drawers at all. We had to live out of our suitcases! Dinner on St Valentine's night was exceptionally good and the staff were unbelievably courteous, polite and cheerful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, Location, Location

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Convenience to the V&A Waterfront; friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Layout of some rooms is not the best with long corridors. Avoid ground floor rooms with outside windows.
Location: V&A Waterfront is great for dining, shopping, and sightseeing. It's just across the road from the Portswood.
The Portswood is just a short stroll from the V&A Waterfront. It is a great base for dining and shopping and is easily accessible for our guide to pick us up and travel around Capetown.