Ratings based on 472 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They really don't care about the customer.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
First the hotel is close under construction and nobody contacted me telling me that, so I arrived from the airport and they were not receiving customers. They sent me to a far away "hotel" really bad taking advantage because I'm sure they paid very little for that place Where I was ROBBED while I was out! If Ritz really care about their customers they would contact you first or they would put you in a better/safe place NOT in a chipper place so they could have more profit on top!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth, England

Best room in town.

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: So many good points; Coffee bar in reception, Lounge on 1st floor, Restaurant, Quality breakfast, Clean throughout (despite renovations), etc.........
Cons: Nothing comes to mind, unless there is a possibility of heating the outside pool.
Location: Close to local shops and restaurants. Close to tour bus route. Close to promenade for walking/running.
From our arrival, through to our departure, we had a positive experience. No complaints. Our room on the 19th floor gave us wonderful views. The dual aspect room meant that we could see sunrise and sunset. Our double room had recently been renovated, and was very acceptable. Some floors were still being renovated, and two of the four lifts were reserved for contractors. This was very well managed and we did not experience any inconvenience.
4 out of 5
by S A from Pretoria

My stay in the Ritz

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent service with wonderful friendly staff. Although the towels were old it was crisp and clean. I would love to have a comfortable chair in the room where you can sit especially if you stay for longer than a week.
5 out of 5
by kashiefa from cape town

awesome/amazing

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
It was a great stay I have stayed at many places and the Ritz is top of my list I saw reviews of the place and I might add its so not true the staff the atmosphere the food everything was absolutely amazing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel is old,but the staff that works there are great!They are super friendly and helpful!
3 out of 5
by C

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
The first day the room was not good at it was damp the carpet was smelling and its was so small for 4 adults also their cupboards was full od dust we complained and they moved us to another room its better than that nice view but the problem we had is when we woked up on Monday Morning and the water was cold.Also their room has no twin plugs we had to go and buy for ourselves to able to charge our phones
3 out of 5
by Vuyiseka from Pretoria

Rejuvenating

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay and had lots of fun together. Though the rooms weren't really up to our standards, the staff were amazing.
1 out of 5
by Frank

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Aditi from Qatar

Try avoiding it ...

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is under renovation... So lifts take a lot of time. Our toilet flush was broken....took multiple plumber visits but couldn't get sorted properly. Tried room service ( for a bottle of water) once and it never arrived..... On calling again, I was told that he water wasn't sent because they realized nobody had informed me about the 'tray charge' of 50 rands per room service! I guess they just assumed that I wouldn't want to pay that charge, and hence rejected the order, without bothering to inform me!!! Ha ha