Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An Amazing Place

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
This is an extensive property, with a working eco farm and winery. Amazing art collection, delicious wines, and so many activities to explore all a short walk from the room. I would highly recommend this as your base for exploring Stellenbosch. Looking forward to visiting again...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely atmosphere in this Winery setting.

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed staying at The Spier, this was my 3rd visit. Very friendly staff and good quality food. Although room was a good size and the bed was comfortable the desk and seating was not particularly comfortable. The wifi was OK but not brilliant for downloading much beyond e-mails, large files were very slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Best hotel I have stayed in anywhere in the world.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: EVERYTHING - utterly wonderful experience - gorgeous rooms, divine beds and bedding, massive luxurious bathrooms....cant fault it
Cons: nothing
Location: There is so much to do ON the property that you do not need to leave for a few days. Wine tasting, the spa, eating, cycling, walking
I cannot describe how outstanding this hotel is - it is an absolute MUST for any visitor to South Africa. And don't just visit the hotel - it has enormous grounds, with restaurants, a bakery, wonderful raptor rescue, and glorious walking trails.,,,not to mention the inclusion of the best breakfast on the planet. Truly, truly outstanding experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

The Stellenbosch wine estate hotel with everything

Posted Sep 26, 2016
We chose Spier because friends had previously stayed and recommended it, and with so many wine estates to choose from it seemed to offer good value for money. Staff and food were great (and the wine!) The grounds could do with a little more attention as we noticed a few dead plants in the accommodation area. Housekeeping staff could do with a little more training, just to ensure consistency, eg some days we had face cloths other days we didn't, so a few small details. Overall I would recommend Spier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Namibia

Lovely child friendly place

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness and spacious.
Cons: You constantly need to login for the wi-fi - not convenient
We really enjoyed our stay. Our children loved the kids room - if your children are happy, you are happy. We were overwhelmed by the friendliness of staff - everyone, no matter where - hotel, restaurant, securities were all just so friendly!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Very average hotel - service was impersonal, room was shabby, dinner was poor. Not at all what I expected from a hotel in the wine lands
4 out of 5
by Olli from Virginia Beach, VA

Great Getaway

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Spier hotel complex was a beautiful, self-contained property with a river, some farm animals, raptor recovery sanctuary, vineyards, & great for wine tasting. Room with a fireplace was comfortable, quiet and with a great bed.
5 out of 5
by LIz from Cape Town & Uk

Perfect place for a quiet winter break

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely break in the winelands, food and wine delicious and staff so helpful, pleasant, polite and attentive